Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


104 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Institute For Collaborative Education 4

Posted June 28, 2014
- a community member
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D I am a student at ICE, and so far, it has been amazing. I had already been used to this sort of teaching style, but for some people who came from a more "organized" teaching style, the change could be difficult at first. 6TH GRADE IS IMPOSSIBLE. EXCEPT STRESS! the work is fair, but the change from 5th to 6th grade is very stressful. 7th grade work is much harder than 6th grade work, but it sure does not feel like it. 7th grade was easy, as long as you stay on top of your work. The middle school band wins many awards, and the teachers are amazing. Enough for me to not just become a student, but to have regular conversations with one as if they were a friend. So, if you can, this school is amazing. :D

Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted June 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. There is so much attention and guidence that is given from the staff and student body. My daugther was lucky enough to get transferred in 7th grade. The transition was tough on her but ICE took the time to work with her and provide the proper tutorials and motivation. I am proud to say the she is now entering 10th grade and has a good grasp on the work at hand. ICE makes learning interactive and fun.


Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
I am a parent of a ICE graduate. We moved across country to NYC as our son entered Junior year (not a fun time to transition). However ICE students from all levels welcomed our son. Teachers and advisers worked hard to guide him through the differences in the way ICE directs and guides students to complete and excel in their studies. Our son has made good strong friends at ICE in the Administration, Teaching teams and Students of various age groups.

Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We just moved back to New York from Europe and we found I.C.E. after a long search. We consider ourselves lucky. The teachers are dedicated, knowledgable and energetic, the parents are involved and supportive, and the students have the chance to develop their individuality and critical thinking. The work is demanding, but the teachers really know how to engage their students and the atmosphere at this school is all around supportive and positive.

Institute For Collaborative Education 4

Posted July 22, 2013
- a community member
Having crash-landed in ICE from a far different world (New Eng. Preps), it takes some real concentration under a foreign lens and a selfless focus to portray this school as a "great" one. But I've managed. I came in with a fear of how misleading a public school other than the tops can be in my road to college and beyond. I felt that a temporarily satisfying blend with the kids here would eviscerate my prep school norms and values, throwing away everything from my ties to my intellectual taste. But by May of that year, it had hit me that the school stood strong . Its philosophical approach to a liberal style of learning doesn't stay too artsy and the environment is one where success isn't socially hindered. The kids, pieced by a rarely, significantly diverse body, have a positive approach to their lives (with a few exceptions). The teachers ARE there to help you, actually no kidding. There is potential in that aging 5th floor of the old Stuy building. Given more funding and resources, the school WILL thrive and its unorthodox system can prove to succeed. Many other lame, minority-become-majority dominated schools are trounced by ICE, which is fortified by a welcoming yet firm comm.


Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted April 26, 2012
- a community member
The teachers are great and kind, it's advanced, but not too hard, the perfect school, but hard to get into. this school should be 1st place in a list of the best schools of Manhattan. Great place.

Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a community member
ICE is a great school. All of the teachers are very loving to each and every single one of their students. Not a single student is left out. The principal is outstanding. Very loving,kind, sweet. gentle, and funny. Every morning he stands outside the school greeting students as they get to school. Being in ICE is being a part of a family. The classes are amazing. The staff offers after school tutoring for those who need it. Everyone feels welcome in ICE. ICE handles it's responsibilities very well. Everyone is equally treated and taken care of at ICE.

Institute For Collaborative Education 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Unfortunately, the 6th grade teachers, in particular the humanities and math teachers are lacking. The kids love them, but can they teach?


Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Absolutely top notch teachers and curriculum. The school itself (on the top two floors of the old Stuyvesant High School) is a bit "dog-eared" and could use some sprucing up. The class assignments (most often collaborative projects, hence the name) are consistently sophisticated and challenging. The school is not interested in standardized testing and to its credit does not "teach to the test." They teach students to think, not to memorize and regurgitate.
1 person found this helpful

Institute For Collaborative Education 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Top class teachers and working environment for kids. No teaching to the test, the children learn what they need to not what looks good on standardized tests.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Institute For Collaborative Education
345 E 15th St, New York, NY  10003
(212) 475-7972
Last modified Institute For Collaborative Education is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Institute For Collaborative Education Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 104 reviews. Top