Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 2 Meyer London
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Maggie Chin thank you and the PTA for making are school a beautiful place to be

Ps 2 Meyer London
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
The fact that the administration heard parents complaints and brought in programs to help children work together. Teachers who try to expose children to the ecology thru recycling and composting. When we were faced with budgets cuts students were encouraged to write letters to government officials. Many encouraged their parent to come in early to picket at school one morning. Show me that they care about their community


Ps 2 Meyer London
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
They have introduce Playworks to help students learn how to communicate through play. They had a launched of the stars program.

Ps 2 Meyer London 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
PS 2 has changed since my child started in Pre K with Ms. Lisa Cheu '09. Her program still encourages 4yr olds to love science. They study a real-life cycle of Pumpkins. Plants grows in class, worms composts, happy snails, millipedes and Butterflies thrive in tanks. It is the rest of the school that has transformed. There is a New Principal Bessie Ng. and an Asst. Principal Joanna Cohen. PTA involvement has quadrupled. They began events like Spirit Day, Movie nights and the Carnival. Smart boards are now in almost every classroom. TERC math method was replaced with Singapore Math 2 yrs ago. The new computer teacher has introduced programs like Flappy Birds to teach coding in Computer Class. There is still NDI for 5th graders but now Ms.Chan's Choir is includes 4th and 5th Graders. Drama Class (Ms.Sklaire) performed Aladdin the Musical (before it was a musical), Annie, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory and Cinderella. Some of which received good reviews from the local Chinese Newspapers They have received grants : *Apple will give every student an iPad to use in class and every teacher a laptop as soon as they finish wireless upgrades sometime this year. *Henry Street Settlement for art. *Cooking for the lower Grades *Yoga Last Month Laura Schroff, author of "The Invisible Thread" came to our school. Added to after school is Eternity, a new enrichment program, that runs at PS2 along with ISS, CPC, and A Place for Kids. Plus the website www.ps2m.info home page is up.

Ps 2 Meyer London 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
The school administration is super rude all the time. They treat parents bad and nasty attitude when we ask some questions. I think Ny city education department can't do any things. Because they protect by workers union. Their bad attitude is not short term period is long term period. Which means I saw when I was a little child in ps2 they used yelling abuse language all the time. I hope some people could teaching them to correct their bad attitude. Hoping them become normal one day . Anyway I like school teachers in ps2. They all are excellent teachers. Except admin


Ps 2 Meyer London 1

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
This school's administration is one of the worst I have ever seen. Some of the people that work here are not helpful and incredibly rude. I hate to see my taxes put to such poor use. I hope the NYC Dept. of Education would take it upon themselves to perform corrective action where warranted and replace the staff with those that are more caring and courteous in order to foster a better and healthier learning environment.

Ps 2 Meyer London 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a community member
I am a 5th grade student at P.S. 2, and I've been here since Pre-K. This school is great for kids. All the teachers are friendly, and they always try to push them a little farther to the next level. They also try to

Ps 2 Meyer London 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
Ms. Jung of 5th grade is the best teacher my son has ever had. I've never seen a teacher who is so caring, observant and so willing to help her student suceed. She takes every opportunity to help her student out. SHE IS THE BEST!!! This school is really great! The Principal, supervisors and staff are all very accommodating. You will see how they work as a team. Thank you very much PS 2 and a BIG thanks to Ms. Jung.


Ps 2 Meyer London
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
it has great teachers, and my children all learned so much!

Ps 2 Meyer London 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This school made 3 of my children pass never failed a grade their smart already!! I have 1 on 4th grade he loves all his teachers he had and passed every single little grade he had.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 2 Meyer London
122 Henry Street, New York, NY  10002
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (212) 964-0350
Last modified Ps 2 Meyer London is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top