Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 3 Charrette School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The lady in the office, Raquel. She is the warmest person, always greeting parents and helpful for any reason.

Ps 3 Charrette School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
there's no consistency about homework, they just throw homework whatever they do. Again, so unorganized and chaos.. very disappointing


Ps 3 Charrette School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely, each student need more caring and respects on especially on academic, and their interests. Not all the kids are into art..they absolutely need to develop in all different subjects, and materials.

Ps 3 Charrette School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
They do have certain great teachers, but seriously they need to develop more teachers ability, and caring for each students, and more respects. The principal there is totally nut case, she doesn't have any respects toward parents at all.

Ps 3 Charrette School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Only thing they care about is money for school, but I don't see any improvement around school facility even though they raise so much money. Where's all the money goes?


Ps 3 Charrette School 1

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
I am very disappointing with this school.They don't really give any homework and don't have any programs about science at all. Whole school system is so unorganized, and principal is so disrespectful.

Ps 3 Charrette School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
special needs parents! PS3 has been amazing in this regard. There are many CTT classes and Also some 12:1:1. Therapists and SBST are really supportive and knowledgable and there is even an ASD support team. I've never had to "fight" for fair services at this school. I regularly meet SN parents at other schools that remark on our experience as being other than the norm and something for which we should be grateful. However I'm sorry to say I just saw poster on insideschools say the gen Ed teacher in 4th grade ICT class is terrible :(( hopefully that won't last ! Also, regarding reputation, Im always a little confused that PS3 retains its rep as the "less structured school" as compared to ps41. I think this is a holdover from hippie days perhaps :) when i walk down the halls during class time it's extremely quiet and looking into classrooms I always see tidy spaces filled with kids busily working. An non-chaotic environment is extremely important to me for my child and I never would have sent my son to a super loose program. Come tour this school!

Ps 3 Charrette School 5

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
We love ps3. We're in our third year here and wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Both my kids love their teachers. Recess is a bit hectic but the teachers are great. We started 1st grade with Megan (the best!!!) and didn't think we would be so lucky again till we got Stephanie who is just as great. She works with me DAILY on my son's performance in school. You can't ask for better attention/love. Kindergartens Tal & Jack are also totally awesome.


Ps 3 Charrette School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
The school is wonderful. The teachers and staff are amazing. our son is there since pre K and now he is in First grade. The academic and social skills that our son had gained are exeptional. We are happy to be part of PS3.

Ps 3 Charrette School 4

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
Progressive - Finland / Finnish like education. Because grades are combined, a child who is a bit advance can sit in on the next year's curriculum, or if behind can sit in the previous year curriculum while staying at grade for the rest of classes...they also have on-site tutors. They use math manipulative e.g. blocks, tiles, charts and graphs. English is taught using both phonics and whole language e.g. they have to learn letter sounds and sounding out words, but also understand and infer meaning through context. Everyday has an art, gym, or music class. They have a ceramics rm, dance rm, yoga, library, computer rm, cooking rm and garden. They have a science teacher ! Projects and book publishing start in K / 1st grade. Some teachers are more relaxed, some more strict, and many in between. The hallways at drop off and pick up are chaotic, halls are narrow,...though, each child is greeted by the teacher and cannot leave the room without eye to eye contact as a measure of security. The building is old...though has a lot of window light. No elevator. Reading HW starts in K /1st grade. Spelling tests start in 1st grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 3 Charrette School
490 Hudson Street, New York, NY  10014
(212) 691-1183
Last modified Ps 3 Charrette School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 3 Charrette School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top