Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


131 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers, management, enrichment programs better than G&T schools, better facilities and resources, very clean and up-to-date very well maintained equipment, great kitchen.

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
PS 6 is an excellent elementary school. The teachers are among the best. The parents are involved. And the PTA is a powerhouse. Fund raising is strong here, but if it weren't the school wouldn't have the extensive resources it does. The only pressure I feel to give to the school comes from my own sense of obligation. My children are getting a great education, better than many private elementary schools. And that takes donations from the parent body. I get it. Test scores at the school dropped, as they did at most if not all other schools because the DOE changed the tests. So school test prep across the city was off. You'll see scores go up again next year as the schools and kids get more savvy about the new tests. This of course begs the testing accuracy question, but that's a conversation for a different time and place.


Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 4

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
What happened to the test scores for this school? Went from 90+% to 70%?? Does anyone know what caused this? Thanks!

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 4

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
Thanks for the frank and insightful comments. Very helpful. I'm a parent who is considering buying a property in this school zone but am a bit concern about the constant fundraising mentioned in lots of comments. Could someone please let me know how much the parents "donate" each week on average? Thanks!

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 4

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
PS6 is a machine - Very bureaucratic. Hence it's lack of ability to stretch and add value as it struggles with DOE frameworks that can be counterproductive. A solid safe education yes - an excellent challenging education definitely not. You kind of get what you pay for (literally as majority of 4/5th grade are privately tutored so who gets credit) it is also a political player (staff and PTA alike) Have 3 kids there and asked for money almost weekly (very pushy and for large sums thousands plus). There are many assumptions made about status of those able to live in most expensive NYC real estate! We try and support but it does feel like they're wannabe private (staff and a lot of parents) even pressured requests for money for frontline teaching which we found wrong on principle. You won't be surprised pleasantly or other, get what says on tin, and if you use private tutors etc may just get into east side middle


Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
PS 6 has truly lived up to its lofty reputation. It has the characteristics expected of a high-performing school: high standards for students, good communication with parents, positive attitudes from faculty, and a PTA that is a fundraising machine. Meetings with teacher/principal are both child-centered, data-driven and very productive. I'm not a PTA member or someone who is always at the school. I'm just baffled by some of the below criticisms. We pay a fortune to send our daughter to a private high school in the neighborhood, and PS 6 is just as impressive as that school.

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 4

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school with very good teachers, involved and active parent body and an administration that seems to care about doing things correctly. A few complaints: working within Board of Ed restrictions seems to lead to compromises in programming - wish the arts and music program were richer. Staff always seems a bit overwhelmed, and reaction seems to be to be strict with the children - maybe it is the number of students in the school. I wish the teachers used email - sending paper notes through student backpacks does not seem very efficient (not to mention not good for the environment or printer supplies). Overall though, the programming for core subjects is excellent, the facilities are high quality (gym, auditorium, library and large bright classrooms), and school has suprisingly good technology (smart boards, computers, etc.). All these elements are critical to the functioning and feel of the school. It is no wonder that people move into this school zone - sending your kids here is a no brainer - only wish it sent through high school and you did not have to deal with applying out for middle school.

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a community member
I don't know what you guys are talking about. I'm not a parent. I actually went to the school. There are not many bullying problems compared to other schools. There were no "popular cliques". My brother went to private school in the Bronx. In 2nd grade my mother moved him to P.S. 6. He barely knew how to read when he got there. Now he can read very well and has many kind and fun friends which he enjoys being around. I had more trouble with cliques at private school than I did at P.S. 6. GO HERE!!! It is a fantastic education.


Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 4

Posted February 27, 2011
- a parent
It seems as if the January 24th post has nothing to do with the school, but more about this individual's own issues with the area. If this person has issues with the school, do not allow your children to attend PS 6; just leave. The people who VOLUNTEER for the school are there for a reason, to help their children and the school. The school is not run like a casino, it is run like a great company full of knowledgeable individuals who take pride in the end result; the best education for their children. Parents are given choices IF they would like to donate to the school; with many opportunities to participate or not.

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake 1

Posted January 24, 2011
- a community member
PS 6 is OK for a NYC public school. It has resources because its run like a casino and parents are constantly asked for money. The previous comments about "loving" the school and "best teachers" is hyperbole. These parents love the lifestyle in this school zone and that they dont have to pay tuition. It has little to do with their children. If they acknowledged the school's shortcomings, they might feel pressure to make a life change and leave the uppereast side.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 6 Lillie D Blake
45 E 81st St, New York, NY  10028
(212) 737-9774
Last modified Ps 6 Lillie D Blake is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 6 Lillie D Blake Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 131 reviews. Top