Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Our child has had a solid education at PS 9. There is a dynamic parent body that supports events. The teachers and administration have responded to queries and concerns admirably.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Presently, all 3 of my boys attend PS-9. 2 of them are in the G&T and the other is in the Gen Ed, as the G&T program no longer exists for incoming students, We have been very happy with all aspects of the school- Principal, Teachers, Offfice, and Parent Involvement. And- the money raised each year thru fundraisers helps pay for an assistant teacher in EVERY class, in addition to some instruction in chess (for lower grades) and Spanish for all. Overall, the children perform well on NYS exams. We're very happy with the school.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the best public schools in the city. The teachers are excellent, the atmosphere is warm and nurturing, the academics are top-notch.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
My 2 boys have been in this school for A year now and as a parent i have to say i cant be any happier they have changed completely for the better the teachers the staff are so warm and respectful my boys are so happy in ps 9 and so am i always feel Welcomed always get fast ans. about everything i need i just love the school.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
My two children graduated from this school. The Principal, most of the teachers, and the Guidance Counselor are great. I had children in both of the programs and they both excelled and attended a great middle school (Delta Honors). I just wish that the parents in the Renaissance Program were more involved.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends this school. Ms. Brady is a phenomenal Principal. The teachers are all above average and hand picked by Ms. Brady. Pleasant and very helpful General Office, as well as, a super attentive and involved PTA, and a superbly planned curriculum makes this the stellar school of the entire NYC public school system. Only downside: School's popularity increases the real possibility of overcrowding in the coming years.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
We have had two children at PS 9 for two years now, and it has been a great experience. The leadership is great, the teachers are top-notch, and the PTA is amazing. There are various enrichment activities, projects, and exciting field trips throughout the year. One thing I would say though is that at PS 9, there is a very sharp distinction between the general ed class and the gifted and talented classes. You see it in the ethnic composition of the students, level of classroom discipline, and the depth of the projects that get undertaken. This is not so evident at younger grades but very obvious in upper grades. The teacher quality is excellent in both, however. The ESL teacher is simply magical - so competent, so good with kids. Great arts and music programs. They could increase the amount of homework though - my daughter barely had any.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
PS 9 is a wonderful neighborhood school with a energetic and super teachers, an involved parent body, and a solid leadership team.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
It is the most nurturing environment for an elementary school age child. It is all about the kids - and the entire school community supports this entirely. We have two kids there and couldn't imagine them anywhere else...

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful environment, best teachers, safe and nurturing.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson
100 West 84th Street, New York, NY  10024
(212) 678-2812
Last modified Ps 9 Sarah Anderson is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 9 Sarah Anderson Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top