Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
This is an AMAZING school with amazing teachers. Recently I visited PS 9 with a number of of other parents and observed some classes. All the teachers were beyond professional, well spoken and seemed very well versed on the subjects being taught. One class in particular we visited was an art class. The teacher by the name of Mr. Muller was very kind and the class was quiet and engaged in the art project. The classroom was neat and organized and all the students were in their seats working quietly. He introduced himself and explained to the parents exactly what the students were working on in great detail. I asked him there how long he was working at PS 9 and he explained to me he was a sub that day for that class. Myself and another parent were very impressed that the school would hire a sub who appears to be such a cultured, knowledgeable gentleman. A substitute teacher being able to actually teach a subject he or she is covering in a NYC public school is a plus! Especially someone who presents themselves as such a gentleman. These are the kind of teachers I like to see at my child's school.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Our son is in 2nd Grade here and we absolutely love the school. The community of parents and caregivers and teachers and students is incredibly vibrant and generous - such a welcoming place to be not only for our son but for our whole family. I am so pleased with the level of education and also the after school opportunities. I could not recommend the school more highly.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Our child has had a solid education at PS 9. There is a dynamic parent body that supports events. The teachers and administration have responded to queries and concerns admirably.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Presently, all 3 of my boys attend PS-9. 2 of them are in the G&T and the other is in the Gen Ed, as the G&T program no longer exists for incoming students, We have been very happy with all aspects of the school- Principal, Teachers, Offfice, and Parent Involvement. And- the money raised each year thru fundraisers helps pay for an assistant teacher in EVERY class, in addition to some instruction in chess (for lower grades) and Spanish for all. Overall, the children perform well on NYS exams. We're very happy with the school.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the best public schools in the city. The teachers are excellent, the atmosphere is warm and nurturing, the academics are top-notch.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
My 2 boys have been in this school for A year now and as a parent i have to say i cant be any happier they have changed completely for the better the teachers the staff are so warm and respectful my boys are so happy in ps 9 and so am i always feel Welcomed always get fast ans. about everything i need i just love the school.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
My two children graduated from this school. The Principal, most of the teachers, and the Guidance Counselor are great. I had children in both of the programs and they both excelled and attended a great middle school (Delta Honors). I just wish that the parents in the Renaissance Program were more involved.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends this school. Ms. Brady is a phenomenal Principal. The teachers are all above average and hand picked by Ms. Brady. Pleasant and very helpful General Office, as well as, a super attentive and involved PTA, and a superbly planned curriculum makes this the stellar school of the entire NYC public school system. Only downside: School's popularity increases the real possibility of overcrowding in the coming years.


Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
We have had two children at PS 9 for two years now, and it has been a great experience. The leadership is great, the teachers are top-notch, and the PTA is amazing. There are various enrichment activities, projects, and exciting field trips throughout the year. One thing I would say though is that at PS 9, there is a very sharp distinction between the general ed class and the gifted and talented classes. You see it in the ethnic composition of the students, level of classroom discipline, and the depth of the projects that get undertaken. This is not so evident at younger grades but very obvious in upper grades. The teacher quality is excellent in both, however. The ESL teacher is simply magical - so competent, so good with kids. Great arts and music programs. They could increase the amount of homework though - my daughter barely had any.

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson 5

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
PS 9 is a wonderful neighborhood school with a energetic and super teachers, an involved parent body, and a solid leadership team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 9 Sarah Anderson
100 West 84th Street, New York, NY  10024
(212) 678-2812
Last modified Ps 9 Sarah Anderson is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 9 Sarah Anderson Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top