Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public
New York, NY

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 19 Asher Levy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My kid goes to preK i live on upper east side and go all the way from 81st street to 14th and do not regret. My daughter's teacher MS TORRES has to be the most experienced teacher. My daughter has learnt so much from her. Love the fact her class is so diverse ethnicity wise. They work very hard preparing kids for K. It is very safe place they will not allow a pre K kid leave until they see a card provided by them. Principal parent coordinator teachers very friendly and welcoming. GREAT EXPERIENCE

Ps 19 Asher Levy 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I disagree with the teachers comment because perhaps they say that the school is safer but that is not the truth. If a child gets hurt in the school they down play it and say it was a mistake. This is how the principal along with the teachers play games. They never tell you what is learned in the classroom. They have a weird way of showing concern. My child attended this school and this year it is time to leave! The principal should address the safety of the school and she does not. My child got hurt multiple times which caused his grades to go down!


Ps 19 Asher Levy 4

Posted April 18, 2013
- a teacher
As a staff member of PS 19, it is my viewpoint that the school has increased its overall quality and functioning these past few years. I believe this has to do with the high level organization and commitment of the principal, who is here at 6 a.m. everyday and works tirelessly to ensure a positive work environment and a rigorous curriculum across all grades. Although there have been growing pains, the school overall is a safer and a more professional environment and the kids definitely pick up on it. I have noticed that the parents who are most vocal about the perceived failures of the school are not seeing all the interventions and approaches that staff utilize with struggling learners. There is a high level of parental outreach and educational workshops are held regularly. Transparency is a key concept here, and the fact that parents/caregivers can't freely enter and exit has cut down on many, many issues that arose because of easy access to the building. In this day of increasingly strict safety measures, PS 19 strives to keep the building as protected as possible. This is a great school and getting better each day.

Ps 19 Asher Levy 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
I am very disappointed with the Public School System and expecially PS 19. The teachers do not make the parents aware of what is learned in the classroom. The kids are not prepared for their state exams. They don't care if the homework assignments are sloppy. They accept them. They don't want parents to enter the building because they don't want to let you see how they truely are. There are too many accidents. THey don't return phone calls and in some cases there is no one there to pick up the phone. You can not reach them after 2PM or before 8:30AM. THey are cold and inexperience. NO books... Children don't write notes. Choose another school. If you look at PS19 , they don't care about your child. Too much bullying....

Ps 19 Asher Levy 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
I had a child in this school's ASD Nest Program for 2 years. Fantastic program for high function ASD kids. We had great 2 years, the location is great, my child's class mates were very nice, and nice school trips, I liked the people in PTA very much (needs a lot more member to help them!!). Unfortunately, we moved far away, so we had to say "good bye" to the school :( The principal is very nice and understanding, responds quickly to parents. I think she should be relaxed a bit though, she works too much by herself, let other people work more???? The school is trying very hard with parent workshops etc. They have one or two workshops a month. (more parents should participate!!) Once a month Family Morning was great, but the academic is not too good yet, and a lot to do with the parents. More parents should reach out "Go Project" which helps kids who have difficulty with academic or social emotional in lower Manhattan. It's almost free!!!!! You can enroll through the parent coordinator in this school. School and the class sizes are small, it's a super big bonus for NYC!!!!. Music class at Third Street Music School. Free after school art program. Free lunch for all the kids.


Ps 19 Asher Levy 2

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Well,this is my children first year at P.S.19, I am not to happy with many things that happen in the school. The first one is parents that have children in kindergarten and first grade are allow to walk their children in the morning to the lunchroom but parents that have children in second grade are not allow. The second one is second grade down are allow to wear Halloween costumes for their Halloween parties,but third grade to fifth grade not. The third one is any time the teacher is absent the kids are sent to other class room. The principal have to apply rules to everyone and every grades. Every students and parents should be treated equally. I also notice that there are certain parents that are allow in the building without signing. I have seen many students without uniforms and if that is the rule,the principal should apply it,don't let them in. We have to show our children that rules should alway be follow and respected. Every where we go we have rules. One mayor thing children don't get is any award for their good grades. The only award they get is a copy of perfect attendance without their names,black and white paper very unprofessional. I just throw it out.

Ps 19 Asher Levy 3

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
This is my child's second year at PS19. Some of the changes that have been made are good. The building is more secure than before. Some parents don't like being able to walk there child to the classrooms. However, they need to understand that there are a lot of problems having massive amounts of adults in the building. The staff cannot be expected to recognize every parent, babysitter or family friend of every student. Now if there is any adult in the building that is not staff a red flag goes off. Before, anyone could get in the building. Parents used to hang out in the parent center all day, and treat it like their clubhouse. Not a big fan of the uniform. If kids want to bully, they will regardless. The focus should be on teaching respect. It has cost me $$$ too. The school has made efforts to increase parent involvement. There are now workshops where you can observe your child in class. The biggest problem is resource allocation. There is no music or art teacher and no subs. Class are split up when a teacher is absent, and sent to other classes. There is no excuse for this kind of disruption. It really makes me question the priorities of the administration.

Ps 19 Asher Levy 5

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
I think this parent is wrong!! Uniform: They have exceptions for someone who can't afford. She just had to sign the form they gave to everyone. And uniform idea was brought up by parents, and voted by parents as well. Parents in school: They give parent passes to walk in with lower grade kids, and it is very safe, because only limited people can come in. Security is a lot better than before. Teachers' contact: They do give out teachers' contact e-mails, look at the school website, or just call if you have concern, and they have Family Instruction Morning every month to visit your kids' classes, also a lot of workshops for parents to support their kids. Is she reading all the prints from school? important ones are in Spanish as well.


Ps 19 Asher Levy 1

Posted October 05, 2011
- a parent
PS 19 as soon as pricipal change the school was went down that I could seen clear. as soon as new pricipal come up she asked for uniform and she should know uniform is very expensive alot of perent could not paid for that with that expence now. Also this new pricipal was stopping parent walk with their kids in side school. I don't fell safe like that for my kid. Also is very hard to contact with the child's teacher if you want to know how your kid study you have to wait until the parent and teacher conference with report card came out by that time is that to late for your kids rate if they already fell. the school should provide each teachter email address so parent could get contact them easy

Ps 19 Asher Levy 2

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
PS 19 would appear as normal as any other grade school within the area. The faculty seems pleasant enough with the children and parents and the environment is evidently orderly. What I sensed was an overall unease towards the principal by several teachers (to be left unnamed for obvious reasons) and numerous outspoken parents. My 8yr old child has attended Asher Levy for 3 years and has been a model student with excellent grades. However, he has indicated to both myself and his father in no uncertain terms that the new principal apparently makes it a point to interject herself into every aspect of the school day and that the teachers themselves have shown increasing frustration with this pattern of behavior. Of course, I cannot confirm nor deny any of these rumblings but I have spoken in confidence with several of my son s teachers who have implied that things are NOT the same at the school. Their expressions, mannerisms and demeanor are quite telling. I do not feel confident in the direction that PS 19 is heading in and have taken the steps necessary to take my son out of the school for the new school year come this fall.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 19 Asher Levy
185 1st Avenue, New York, NY  10003
(212) 533-5340
Last modified Ps 19 Asher Levy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 19 Asher Levy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top