Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from this school a fell months ago and I got to say, I love this school a lot. This school give out very challenging work and it's fun! The teachers are really entertaining to talk to and they really care about you. This school is really clean( well MOST of the time) and I highly recommend is school to any pre-schooler that's searching for a school to go to. I hate to leave this school. All in all this is a great school and I highly recommend it.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 4

Posted August 07, 2012
- a community member
I am a graduate of PS42, class of Jan. 46. I am curious if there are other people of that era in contact with you? Are the names of teachers who were there available?


Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from PS42 in 2008. Its challenging academics and caring environment provides a foundation to encourage the child to show his/her utmost potential in completing assignments. The teachers are strict but somewhat amusing to work with. If you cuss in 5th grade, they will most likely make the child write a 5-page college apology letter. They encourage students to try their best, be courteous, and maintain tenacity. I truly recommend this school.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has only been in this school for 2 months and she has learnt more in this short amount of time at P.S. 42 than in the charter school that she was in for the whole school year just about. I love this school and think it is a wonderful school.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted March 08, 2011
- a community member
Even though I only been here for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade, I still like this school. The teachers are great and I remember we get 50 dollars for free books at barnes and noble. I think this is a great school. Clean, and with great teachers and staff. The lunch staff gives you seconds which is great. Even when right now I am in middle school, we don't even get seconds. This school made me feel at home. I would recommend this school highly.


Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
What's not to love about P.S. 42? The school is safe and drug free. The teachers are knowledgable and truly care about the well being of the students. The parents are hard working folks who not only work hard but I also see them put in extra time to become involved in their child's studies and that's with the help of the school because this school not only promotes this type of activity but they also nurture it and looks for ways to make it grow. I love seeing my child develop and become more independent, more wiser and more happy each day from this school.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
challenging school. the teachers are excellent at teaching the students and are always fair.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a student
The teachers here are great! They may be a little strict, but they teach you great things in math, science, writing and more!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 42 Benjamin Altman
71 Hester St, New York, NY  10002
(212) 226-8410
Last modified Ps 42 Benjamin Altman is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 42 Benjamin Altman Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top