Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
K-5
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 639
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 65 1

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
This Principal is a bully!! She bullies her staff. She tries to intimidate teachers and other staff members by using her power to get things accomplish. Shame on the DOE to allow such a principal to run a school!!! She frowns upon Special Ed. Shame Shame Shame!!!
3 people found this helpful

Ps 65 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a teacher
I came to PS 65 as a teacher 12 years ago. In comparison to the other two schools I taught in, this was heaven! The children are courteous and thoughtful. There are few if any real discipline problems. Learning is rigorous and results are apparent. When I cam to PS65, we had the lowest scores in the district in reading and math.When Principal Garcia came, things started to turn around. Within 3 years, PS.65 became the top school in reading and math scores. It had been ranked well developed and given top grades by the Department of Education. Parents and Teachers appreciate the turnaround as evidenced by the A rating given the school by Staff and Parents in the yearly school report card. Yes, the administration had to weed out some ineffective teachers, but that has to be done in all work environments. Teaching grades were changed, teachers were given retraining and some improved and some left....Today PS65 is a model school. I am proud to be part of the staff!
2 people found this helpful


Ps 65 1

Posted August 03, 2013
- a teacher
i taught at this school and was astonished by what was happening. Students who were supposed to received special education services were not. They were place in a co-teaching classroom where there was not even a sp.ed teacher present. Teachers were moved from one to the next with no reasoning and no time to explain to the kids. Only work from the top kid was displayed which was very frustrating to me as a special education teacher. The administration bullies the teachers into putting up their best students work but it is all fake. There is no time to teach new skills. Students are writing constantly in all subjects which was really just copying what the teacher had given them. i would never recommend this school to a family or anyone looking for a teaching job. Kids have no time to play or have fun or work on any social skills in a natural setting. Please think twice before sending you child here.
2 people found this helpful

Ps 65 4

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
The principal makes herself available for meetings. Very well communication between parents and teachers. I noticed cliques between students. After school is available and Saturday classes for students who need extra help. I only wish this school went up to 8th grade

Ps 65 1

Posted December 28, 2012
- a teacher
I taught here a couple of years ago. The principal (Garcia) was focused on showing off to the public, and anyone that came into the building. Teachers spent hours making bulletin board, instead of analyzing student work and creating lesson plans. Students wrote essays in every academic area. Curriculum was not developmentally appropriate. I saw classes where kindergarteners were expected to write 5 paragraph essays, yet I never saw the art of writing taught. Instead, teachers would write it for them and the students would re-write it in their hand writing. If teachers hadn't done this then they would have been penalized for incorrect spelling, grammar etc in kindergarten work! Special Ed. students were ignored. During lessons instead of helping my Special Ed students I was told to help other students get there work read y for the bulletin board, and the other kids could just draw. I was horrified with the lack of instruction, and quit halfway through the year, after being removed from the class, and being placed in a different setting, therefore leaving my Special. Ed. students unsupported in their classroom without the services that were mandated in their IEPS!
1 person found this helpful


Ps 65 4

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year here transfering from another school. At first I thought I would have a problem with her, but far from it.. She absolutely love this school!! The teachers are professional and I feel that my daughter has learned alot there... Also the security is excellent... I highly recommend this school..

Ps 65 5

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
This is wonderful school. my child love this school and I love this school too.

Ps 65 3

Posted July 28, 2011
- a parent
The school appears to be a great school; However, there is lack of parent involvement and poor leadership.


Ps 65 1

Posted June 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 65 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 65
696 Jamaica Avenue, New York, NY  11208
(718) 235-2223
Last modified Ps 65 is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 65 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top