Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 902
 

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 87 William Sherman
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The lower grade teachers were excellent in our case. The fourth grade teachers that I know of seem quite questionable and borderline damaging.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
It's not the amount of homework, it's the quality of teaching in school that really matters.


Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
No! They may think that the poor treatment of the upper grade does this, but I believe that it's just the opposite. Cutting down a kind, eager and compassionate child's confidence by constantly punishing that student is wrong.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The only way to develop respect is to offer respect. The lower grade teachers do this, the upper grade teachers belittle.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The lower grades develop and celebrate these qualities. So far, the upper grades develop a deep fear of testing.


Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
This school only puts students' needs ahead of teachers' needs when they are at risk of getting in serious trouble. I've witnessed this first hand.

Ps 87 William Sherman 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
The dual language(Spanish) program is incredible. My daughter is so lucky to be in this program, but what I found out after she got into the program is that NYC DOE tried to get rid of it! Couldn't believe it. It's amazing that DOE tries to get rid of a program that is so meaningful and useful! To become bilingual from a NYC public school education is incredible. DOE should encourage more programs like these, not get in the way of it. Luckily, the parent force is strong at PS87 so the program was saved. If anything, they should expand the program, not get rid of it!! Other schools should have these type of programs!
1 person found this helpful

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
It was a special school An (old) attribute - to 'drop off' our children in the 'big yard', gave the elementary school years the family feeling of involvement, nurture, connection and duty. We got to know other kids and parents. A yearlong 're-paving' of the 'big yard', must've made the teachers lazy to not having to labor down to the yard for morning pick up. (Was never a safety issue. Ever.) This 'lack of connection' has resulted in less and less incoming parents stepping up to fill the 'involved' shoes of those of us leaving (so the school is on a downward slope), and more and more we don't know our children's classmates reflective of technology isolation abounding. The school refuses to fire 2 third grade teachers (Lisa Uhr & Emily Weinstein) and the 4th/5th grade science teacher 'Tom', despite persistent complaints by parents. So sad this 4th/5th grade science teacher shatters his opportunity to ignite a love of science in these children If he is so bored by science- he should spare our kids and find something else to do. The 2 third grade teachers should not be teaching children- at all.


Ps 87 William Sherman 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
PS 87 has a pretty strong community with a few wonderful teachers. It ends there. The administration is simply awful. Claudia is an unprofessional presence and I cringe each time my daughter tells me another story describing her "crazy behavior". The guidance counselor is also known for giving parents minimal and sometimes misinformation.The principal is known throughout the community as one that will never take a stand. She feeds back platitudes and offers minimal to no help. She is, simply, incompetent. The school is grossly overcrowded with 29, 6 yr old 2nd graders to 1 overwhelmed teacher. Many teachers have considerable potential but they need clear direction and guidance. There is almost no academic consistency from one classroom to another and I hear the science teacher is so absolutely awful that the kids call him "the most boring human ever". One teacher is actually known for cursing at her students! This is where the principal needs to do her job...but she would rather not ever make waves. The only way one's "non gifted" child can thrive is to be supportive, send them for additional after school academic programing and tutor, tutor, tutor for that 4th grade test.
2 people found this helpful

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted March 10, 2014
- a teacher
Thank god I don't work here any more. The staff here are just plain unkind to one another and treat eachother rudely. Meanwhile. they teach kids to respect one another! There are exceptions, of course, but they are in the minority. I'll give this school 3 stars because I know there are other schools that are even worse.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 87 William Sherman
160 West 78th Street, New York, NY  10024
(212) 678-2826
Last modified Ps 87 William Sherman is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 87 William Sherman Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top