Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 87 William Sherman 2

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
We want to like this school. It has a good reputation and well educated families and diverse student body, but it falls short in every way. Decisions about studies and discipline are purely random and there are many days I send my child to school wondering what is going to happen next, which is a terrible feeling.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The lower grade teachers were excellent in our case. The fourth grade teachers that I know of seem quite questionable and borderline damaging.


Ps 87 William Sherman
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
It's not the amount of homework, it's the quality of teaching in school that really matters.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
No! They may think that the poor treatment of the upper grade does this, but I believe that it's just the opposite. Cutting down a kind, eager and compassionate child's confidence by constantly punishing that student is wrong.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The only way to develop respect is to offer respect. The lower grade teachers do this, the upper grade teachers belittle.


Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
The lower grades develop and celebrate these qualities. So far, the upper grades develop a deep fear of testing.

Ps 87 William Sherman
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
This school only puts students' needs ahead of teachers' needs when they are at risk of getting in serious trouble. I've witnessed this first hand.

Ps 87 William Sherman 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
The dual language(Spanish) program is incredible. My daughter is so lucky to be in this program, but what I found out after she got into the program is that NYC DOE tried to get rid of it! Couldn't believe it. It's amazing that DOE tries to get rid of a program that is so meaningful and useful! To become bilingual from a NYC public school education is incredible. DOE should encourage more programs like these, not get in the way of it. Luckily, the parent force is strong at PS87 so the program was saved. If anything, they should expand the program, not get rid of it!! Other schools should have these type of programs!


Ps 87 William Sherman 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
PS 87 has a pretty strong community with a few wonderful teachers. It ends there. The administration is simply awful. Claudia is an unprofessional presence and I cringe each time my daughter tells me another story describing her "crazy behavior". The guidance counselor is also known for giving parents minimal and sometimes misinformation.The principal is known throughout the community as one that will never take a stand. She feeds back platitudes and offers minimal to no help. She is, simply, incompetent. The school is grossly overcrowded with 29, 6 yr old 2nd graders to 1 overwhelmed teacher. Many teachers have considerable potential but they need clear direction and guidance. There is almost no academic consistency from one classroom to another and I hear the science teacher is so absolutely awful that the kids call him "the most boring human ever". One teacher is actually known for cursing at her students! This is where the principal needs to do her job...but she would rather not ever make waves. The only way one's "non gifted" child can thrive is to be supportive, send them for additional after school academic programing and tutor, tutor, tutor for that 4th grade test.

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted March 10, 2014
- a teacher
Thank god I don't work here any more. The staff here are just plain unkind to one another and treat eachother rudely. Meanwhile. they teach kids to respect one another! There are exceptions, of course, but they are in the minority. I'll give this school 3 stars because I know there are other schools that are even worse.

Nearby schools

Ps 87 William Sherman
160 West 78th Street, New York, NY  10024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (212) 678-2826
Last modified Ps 87 William Sherman is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top