Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


60 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 87 William Sherman 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
PS 87 has a pretty strong community with a few wonderful teachers. It ends there. The administration is simply awful. Claudia is an unprofessional presence and I cringe each time my daughter tells me another story describing her "crazy behavior". The guidance counselor is also known for giving parents minimal and sometimes misinformation.The principal is known throughout the community as one that will never take a stand. She feeds back platitudes and offers minimal to no help. She is, simply, incompetent. The school is grossly overcrowded with 29, 6 yr old 2nd graders to 1 overwhelmed teacher. Many teachers have considerable potential but they need clear direction and guidance. There is almost no academic consistency from one classroom to another and I hear the science teacher is so absolutely awful that the kids call him "the most boring human ever". One teacher is actually known for cursing at her students! This is where the principal needs to do her job...but she would rather not ever make waves. The only way one's "non gifted" child can thrive is to be supportive, send them for additional after school academic programing and tutor, tutor, tutor for that 4th grade test.

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted March 10, 2014
- a teacher
Thank god I don't work here any more. The staff here are just plain unkind to one another and treat eachother rudely. Meanwhile. they teach kids to respect one another! There are exceptions, of course, but they are in the minority. I'll give this school 3 stars because I know there are other schools that are even worse.


Ps 87 William Sherman 1

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
If I could give this school a rating of zero stars, I certainly would! The Principle, Monica Berry, is ineffective - she won't solve festering problems, all the while ignoring my emails and phone calls. If you walk into her office to speak with her, she'll always claim she's too busy. My daughter wears hearing aids in both ears and teachers must wear an FM unit so she can hear them. Throughout the school year, she has been bullied and pushed around by Noelia, a teacher and an attitudinal late room supervisor. Despite repeated attempts to reach out to the principle, nothing was done! Noelia has never bothered to wear the FM unit but yells at my daughter for not listening. How can you yell at a girl when she can't even hear you? Due to the fact that my daughter is able to read lips and facial expressions, she was able to tell me that Noelia curses and rolls her eyes at her - my daughter's feelings notwithstanding. Noelia doesn't even allow my daughter to eat in the late room, despite the fact that she openly snacks right in front of her. What kind of an example is she setting? I am totally disgusted at this point to send both of my girls to this institution that passes as a school.

Ps 87 William Sherman 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a busy, joyful school that does its best to meet UWS parent expectations for an academically challenging and arts/culturally enriched program. Most teachers are dedicated, passionate and creative -- each in their own way. Most parents are giving, involved and dedicated members of the school community. And the kids are mostly bright, sweet, eager students. There are exceptions to all of the above (of course!). But in a school this big you are bound to come across a few less-than-impressive teachers, parents, kids. The school has made strides in recent years to better support kids with IEPs, in ICT, etc. - including the hiring of special ed coordinator. The classes are big, lunchroom is crowded and the auditorium gets noisy -- but this is a NYC public school. The experience for kids and parents, I think, mirrors real life: How can you make your voice heard? How can you get your questions answered? How can you make the most of a teacher who has a different style than yours? How can you focus in a classroom where there are kids of all abilities learning next to you? I highly recommend this school for families looking for well-rounded education in life and in academics.

Ps 87 William Sherman 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Just saw the review below. I can't disagree, because these things are subjective and everyone is entitled to an opinion about his/her own experience. Having said that, my child has had a wonderful group of teachers over the years, and her two years in an ICT class (as a general ed student) were fraught with real-life lessons on empathy, tolerance and understanding Moreover, having the two teachers was a big bonus. The school is large (and indeed, the building is 60 years old), and the administration is subject to all kinds of criticism every time something aries that 600+ families don't all agree with. Yet I've seen a level of caring and compassion from everyone. From the principal to the APs to the office staff to the school security guard. Love this school, warts and all.


Ps 87 William Sherman 2

Posted January 15, 2014
- a community member
As a parent of a child with special needs, I was very disappointed. PS87 shows a lack of understanding about different learning styles. Let's start with the cafeteria which is hosts 150 kindergarteners for lunch. Would that overwhelm your child? No problem! PS87 will give your child noise-cancelling headphones so they won't be bothered by the noise. Nor can they interact with their peers. Wonderful. And the Parent Coordinator... sadly, when we asked about the OT gym, we were told that we *absolutely* could not see it. Her demeanor was as if she thought we wanted to gawk at the poor special needs children; perhaps she hadn't considered the fact that the children in question were just like OURS. The school literature says about the ICT classes (which are 60% gen ed, 40% special ed) "Children on the general education side are 'model' students they must model excellent behavioral and learning habits." Seriously? Do these kids get *nothing* else out of the experience of being with differently-abled peers? How about tolerance? Or empathy? Or maybe, just maybe, those special needs kids have *something* to offer. It's worth considering. So much more to say. So few characters allowed.

Ps 87 William Sherman 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
It's an excellent school, period (seems like a couple of bitter posters below, as the whole favoritism thing seems way off base for example...I've seen hyperinvolved kids/families assigned to the "lesser-reputation" teachers or shut out of popular afterschool programs all the time). But let's be clear -- the school suffers from the same maladies that NYC publics have been suffering from. Bare-bones funding means large classes (but not nearly as large as other schools frankly...kudos to the administration for its continuous and under-appreciated push to keep sizes more reasonable), lack of administration/staffing, downgraded arts/music programs, a shell of a library. Why can't NYC schools be the cathedrals of excellence that parents, politicians, administrators and teachers all seem to be demanding?

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
I am a PS87 parent. I've been a big fan of the school until recently when I've become quite disillusioned over how the class assignments are made. Every year, the same favored families get the choice teachers. It's become tiresome seeing this happen year after year. This is supposed to be a public school, not a two tiered system where the favorite families end up getting the better school experience.


Ps 87 William Sherman 4

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
I was a cheerleader for PS 87 for 2 1/2 years, great teachers... but the comments below are true. I think the school is running on 'laurels of yesteryear'. This year feels a waste. Most of the parents in my class can't wait till it is over, the teachers seemed to care about the test , and checking their email. Bullying is not handled expeditiously (to say the least). A general lack of citizenship is being tolerated by a few over indulged students, and it is sadly impacting the many.

Ps 87 William Sherman 3

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
There is a huge disparity in the quality of teaching at PS 87, with some very strong teachers and some extremely weak. The quality of the education a child receives completely depends on the teacher they have. If a teacher is week, children and parent are completely at their teacher s mercy. So far, this year has been lost school time for my child. There is no standard which school administration implements on teachers performance, which is very disturbing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 87 William Sherman
160 West 78th Street, New York, NY  10024
(212) 678-2826
Last modified Ps 87 William Sherman is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 87 William Sherman Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top