Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Excellent school. Excellent, dedicated, hard working teachers. Highly recommended. Beats other "A" rated schools by far.

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Thank you so much Ms. Romero, Ms. Casandra, Ms. Ventura, Mr. A (Science), Ms. B (Music), Ms. Galvin (Art). We love you very much!


Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Our children used to go to a top # 3 school on the Upper East Side before we moved to Hell's Kitchen and switched to PS 111. We were surprised how good PS 111 is, despite not so high ratings. It is actually better than the previous school: more honest and friendly. And we are very happy with the teachers at PS 111, they are so dedicated to the students.

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Situated on the west side of mid-town this wonderful school has not yet received the rating it deserves. The entrance in the building is clean and bright. The Pre-K Coordinator, Ms. Zaida is wonderful and very professional. The pre-K Classroom is bright with large windows and well stocked. It is a safe and nurturing environment and parents are encouraged to participate on Family Fridays. The Pre-K playground is well equipped and a great place for kids to use each day. The pre-k class goes to the library a couple times a week and goes to music class. The Pre-k goes on several awesome field trips. They are currently constructing an amazing new playground that is state of the art with an outdoor classroom. The lunch room is large and surrounded by windows letting in wonderful light. I recommend this school for Pre-k. Take a tour and see what you think.

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
my 3 children attended this school and i have to say it was the best decision ever, the teachers and dedication was amazing my son always looks back and says wow i miss that school he is in the air force now, my oldest daughter Bianca Soto also graduated from this school in college now and my youngest Isabella is in 8th grade time flies. awesome memories.


Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 5

Posted January 12, 2012
- a community member
I rate this school as a final product due to the teachings and values instilled in me when I attended it back in the day. This school has always impressed me profoundly and the teachers were so supportive which is why I am now who i am...a successful citizen in the U.S.A Hence, in memoriam I thank all the following teachers in my day: 1st Grade: Ms Valvo 2nd Grade: Ms. Silverman 3rd Grade: Ms. Dubow 4th Grade: Ms. Boyer 5th Grade: Ms. Korn 6th Grade: Mr. Moriarity Principals- Dr, Greene, Mr. Applebaum, Mr. Boyer

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs
no rating

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
it has been a home to my 3 children, my oldest graduated from there, my son and now my youngest is attending it is clean, the teachers are amazing, and I would recommend this school to everyone.

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 3

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended this school last year for pre K and the experience was truly extraordinary. The teacher she had was Bank Street College trained and very nurturing and bright. The teacher's aid was an invaluable addition to the class, especially since many children were going to a "big" school for the first time. She was patient, kind, and funny, gently turning those seperation anxiety tears into big smiles! I strongly recommend the lower grades, but I hear mixed reviews on the upper ones. PS 111 was a great start to public school for my daughter and I plan to send my son next year.


Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs 4

Posted October 13, 2010
- a teacher
I used to teach there, and the kids, parents, teachers, and administrative staff are great and deserve a helping hand up.

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
The reason why I love my School, P.S. 111 is because the teachers and the administration go out of their way to do the best for their students and the parents. Within the last few years the school has grown so much. We now have great PE teachers (intermurals and sports teams), Music teacher ( who has created chorus and band classes), and a Science lab (Science fair). Great work P.S.111!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs
440 West 53rd Street, New York, NY  10019
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (212) 582-7420
Last modified Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs is a Public school that serves grades PK-5, 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top