Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
Great Teachers, Great Staff I have my son there for 4 years now and I could not be happier. The principal is amazing the secretaries are sweethearts and the PTA cares about the best interests of the school, students and faculty

Ps 122 Mamie Fay
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
always honest always fair you feel extra comfortable drooping off your child to school every morning


Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Love this school, I have my two kids in this school and we loved! They are very well educated and the principal is amazing!

Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
I usually don't respond to these sites because the experience is different for everyone. But to say that you have to be white to be treated properly is ignorance at its best. Whites are the minority in this school. Obviously you did not spend much time at this school. One example of the diversity is the annual culture night that will usually have over 20 countries being represented. With such a closed mind I can see why you could not appreciate diversity and a great education.

Ps 122 Mamie Fay 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
PS 122 is a great school if your white. Because WE as Hispanic we were treated very poorly. Took my daughter out of that school and she is much happier in a very school. With very very helpful teacher and a super stuff .


Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been in PS122 since kindergarten and it has been great so far! She is now in 1st grade and her reading and math skills are amazing!! I'm bring my son on board in September! The teachers are great!

Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
One of the great school @. NYC . My older son was in this school , now my younger son goes in ps 122. I am so so happy

Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Great small school that focuses on academics and excellence. There's 2 parts to this wonderful school: an elementary school (which has gifted and non-gifted programs) and a top-rated gifted middle school. My review is on their dynamic gifted middle school school program. Its a rigorous program that give students the skills and foundation needed to enter the top high schools in the city. Over 95% of the 2013 graduating class received acceptance to the specialized high schools. Their scores rank high both in the state tests and in the 8th grade Regents in Algebra, Science and Spanish. A phenomenal dedicated staff of teachers and administrators make the learning environment positive and nurturing. My son was accepted into his dream high school (Stuyvesant) & is transitioning well because of the great academic foundation he received at this school. Thanks to Ms. Nunez he entered Stuy with fluency of Jr yr level Spanish. Of all his teachers he misses her the most. we both miss the small caring community feeling of this wonderful school. Its by far the best Middle School in Queens & I understand it ranks 3rd in NYC. May this record continue!


Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
As most schools in our city and country are facing difficult times and causes for failure, it is encouraging and refreshing to note that P.S.122 in Astoria continues to excel and thrive among its peers. Thanks to the wonderful administration, staff, and phenomenal teachers, P.S. 122 faces all challenges and obstacles and transforms them into a rewarding, safe, and rich learning environment.. Congratulations to the P.S.122 community and keep up what you do for your school to be a role model for others.

Ps 122 Mamie Fay 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
awsome! All the teachers are great and they all try to get you to your best potential! I love my school and teachers love their students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 122 Mamie Fay
21-21 Ditmars Boulevard, New York, NY  11105
(718) 721-6410
Last modified Ps 122 Mamie Fay is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 122 Mamie Fay Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. Top