Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 1

Posted June 11, 2015
- a community member
The principal and the assistant principal are ineffective any issues there is or may be they quickly push the problems off to someone else. Since the principal Ms. Hernandez been in the school honestly speaking things have deteriorated tremendously

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 1

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is absolutely horrible, I have been back and ford to this school for multiply reason. Which deals with bullies and just recently things are getting worst my child has been threatened to be stabbed by another student I went to the school on the first occasion when my son was being pick on by another student then it became physical . It has been a month and they claim I couldn't change my child class and school because it's suppose to be my child zone school. I don't care I am working on getting my child out of ps123m. I don't believe that school is taking this matter seriously and I will not wait for a phone call stating I have to go to the hospital because my child is not safe at this school . They need to shut this school down for good . I feel they have had enough time to address the issue and speak with the parent. It appears the parent don't care and the school doesn't either. They seem to take it as a joke. I wish there was a petition to sign for the school to be closed down I would gladly be the first one to sign it. I should of follow my first instincts when I didn't want to sign my kids up for that school.


Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Well when I was there between 1965-67 it was a great school loved the school back then sorry I can't grade the school in these years, I graduated in 1967 back then it was called Alexander Webb PS 123.

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. Disorganized , Rude, and plain ghetto. Best thing about this school is their principle she tries very hard to make the school better . The assistant principle , parent coordinator , teachers even the nurses assistant is rude. This school is a mess needs to be cleaned up quick . Had to take my daughter out of this school Couldn't deal with it anymore

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 4

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
Hello. I wrote a review on June 30th, talking about this school. I am still a middle school student here and the middle school has changed for the better. We are getting Spanish twice a week, PE twice a week, and Drama/Dance through out the whole week. We got a lot of new teachers and they are FABULOUS. I love this school so much now. The Principal, Ms. Hernandez, is doing such a great job. She is putting up strict rules and bringing in lots of programs. I recommend this school for your child.


Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of P.S. 123 and I have one child that currently attends. I have a lot of faith in this schools future. I am currently in the works of trying to become the parent associations' Vice President and I have many great ideas to try and get the children involved in their school again. I see significant changes in this school since former principal Dr. Beverly Lewis retired and current principal Tina Hernandez has come into our childrens' lives. I truly believe that if this school had more parent participation we could really turn this school around. It takes dedication from us first. We must set an example for our children. Once the staff sees what the parents are bringing to the table, im sure they will step up their game as well. I look forward to a productive and successful school year.

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 2

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of P.S.123. I have three children attending. The school is not as great as it was in the past few years. There is no initiative in the school. Students should be encouraged more to keep them off the streets and work harder in class(giving out prizes, Cash Checks, etc.) Dr.Lewis, former principal, left the school in December 2012. Miss Hernandez, the new principal is trying to make up for what our children did not have while Dr.Lewis was in charge. For example, the middle school doesn't have a language class but Miss Hernandez is trying to bring that in. As of the 2012-2013 school year, there was no Gym Teacher or Computer Lab for the students. This is not a great thing. No physical education in school is a BIG issue. Students learn better when having a relaxed body and mind. There are also no extracurricular activities such as basketball or football. I certainly hope that during the 2013-2014 school year, Miss Hernandez and her staff change most of the things around.

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 4

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I believe they are making efforts to help children in harlem to get better education with better circumstances. I like the dedication of principal. She loves her school and children. But I wish they have more activitiy for students for afterschool.


Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson 2

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the parent that said Dr. Lewis is oblivious to what happens in her school. She tries hard to make a difference but the PTA is lousy and she has favorites in the classrooms when it comes to teachers. There is a air of gossip and disrespect among staffers that the children know about and this is wrong and encourages negative behavior.

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson
no rating

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
I currently have a child attending this school. However I feel that the academic curriculum can be more challenging and more extra-curricular activies. I agree with the previous parent that the Prinicpal is oblivious. There is some unprofessional and disrespect behavior that needs to be addressed which is not a positive role for the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson
301 West 140th Street, New York, NY  10030
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (212) 342-6200
Last modified Ps 123 Mahalia Jackson is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top