Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public
New York, NY

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 124 Yung Wing 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son just began attending PS 124 in the G&T Kindergarten class. Thus far, I am so impressed with how the school under-promises and over-delivers. Delivering some of the best testing results in the state with the common core curriculum, the administration is quieting reaping the benefits on having the foresight to embrace the new system ahead of the curve. Bravo to our teachers and administration!!! The one thing this school lacks is a PR machine. PS 124 quietly works at continued improvement and excellence without the notoriety that it assuredly deserves.

Ps 124 Yung Wing 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
I think this school has been a great place for my daughter. She has had excellent and caring teachers. She really enjoys going to school and has been offered a very well rounded education. I have been very happy with all the offerings in this school; from chess, to studio in the school for art, cooking clubs, theater and glee clubs. I am impressed by the hardworking principal and staff. The school has gotten so much better than when I attended decades ago.


Ps 124 Yung Wing 4

Posted July 09, 2012
- a community member
Great amenities: Ice Cream machine. Movies during rainy days. Large play yard. Good food in the cafeteria. Wonderful teachers with well rounded curriculum.

Ps 124 Yung Wing 4

Posted June 25, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are very proactive in teaching the kids new curriculum. There are teachers who actually try to teach kids more advance materials because the kids are up to the challenge. The principal is very involved with the teachers, students, school leadership team, parent teacher association. She gives 100% back to the school.

Ps 124 Yung Wing 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
The teachers that my children have had provided them with great assistance to excel in school, from a general education and a gifted and talented standpoint. The teachers are dedicated and will make themselves available before, during and after school hours to allow for more parental contact. Many of them will even communicate with you via email. Although some of the curriculum seems to be beyond grade level, the kids do apply themselves and eventually come out ahead. The school also has extended day which allows student to benefit from a small instructional group setting. The only problem I have is that some of my kids' classes have too many kids. In some instances having a 32:1 ratio a bit high, but this only applies to the upper grades. Great school overall and my kids have great memories of the school and love the teachers they have had so far.


Ps 124 Yung Wing 4

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
Cutbacks and the exodus of teachers were difficult, but I'm still glad we sent our kids here. Time Warner did present Alice Hom with a 2007 Principals of Excellence award for her leadership.

Ps 124 Yung Wing 2

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
Totally agree! I make a very big mistake did not transfer my daughter to the other school when she was 1st grade. Now she has a friend and refused go to other school. The teacher go back to teach 4th grade this year. You have to bet how much luck you have. My daughter "has"luck this year to have good teacher but don't know next year.My son will be in kindergarten this sept but I'm not sending him to this school. And also the CPC after-school program, you can cut the line if you know someone. I'm waiting more than 3 years, still waiting...fair? I give up!

Ps 124 Yung Wing 2

Posted April 30, 2011
- a parent
This was a great school when it was administered by Janet Won. Since Alice Hom took over leadership, there has been an exodus of great seasoned educators out of P.S. 124M for the past two years. 13 Teachers transferred to other schools, and even the two assistant principals also left for betterment elsewhere. My child was in the gifted program until the first grade, it was a total nightmare for her. She was taught by a fourth grade teacher from a catholic school who admitted to the parents she could not handle/or teach 6-7 yr. old children. Neither administrator knew what curricculum was to be taught for that TAG class. We transferred our child out to a much better school nearby, Hernando DeSoto has a fantastic program for all levels. Don't send your children to this school. You'll be sorry.


Ps 124 Yung Wing 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in the gifted kindergarten program. She tested well, and PS 124 was not our first choice. Now that she is here, we are amazed at how much she learns. The teacher is very serious about making sure each child fulfills their academic potential. The culture of this school makes it a truly NYC gem. It is as good or better than any NYC G&T program. Impressive.

Ps 124 Yung Wing 1

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 124 Yung Wing
40 Division Street, New York, NY  10002
(212) 966-7237
Last modified Ps 124 Yung Wing is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 124 Yung Wing Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top