Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 313
 

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 2

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Parents must be on top of teachers to get information and to make sure the child is not falling behind. I had to go countless of times through out the week to ensure the safety of my child. The school needs to have a no bully tolerance rule as they currently do not. I have seen kids being hit with objects and the lunch time recess staff chose to ignore it. I had to intervene and tell the child to stop hitting the boy on the head. I called the attention of the attendant and she said yes we know the student is a problem. My child fell in the yard and she had to walk around the yard and down the block to the entrance with a fellow student her age . No escort. I work right across the street and if that were not the case my kid would not be at this school as it is a safety hazard. The principal is overwhelmed but tries to be out there talking to parents. I changed my daughter's teacher as her lack of education was very disappointing. What teacher talks about her daily life instead of teaching?
1 person found this helpful

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 2

Posted January 31, 2011
- a community member
I think there needs to be a school-wide behavior management system throughout the entire school. Behavior discipline as well as social and emotional needs are not top concerns in this school. Fire drills, lunch/recess and dismissal routines are extremely disorganized. The lower grades are... discouraged from learning through multi-sensory techniques, hands-on experiences and a a project-based curriculum. The children in the lower grades are being pushed to do assignments and tasks that are developmentally inappropriate for young learners. If you want your kindergarten or pre-kindergarten child to play through authentic learning experiences, then this is not the school for you.
1 person found this helpful


Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 4

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
i love this school, my daughter is moving up the 2nd grade, and my son is moving up to 1st grade, they had so much fun in school, and i am very happy to see my kids read books and do their homework by themselves. the teachers are always available in the morning for a little chat. especially MRS Zhao. she always update me regarding how my son is doing is school.

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
If you are looking for success, improvement, safety, and awesome activities -This is the school to choose. They listen and work hard for you and your children. They get better every year!

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 0
no rating

Posted September 03, 2009
- a community member
Hi, my name is Elizabeth & I agree...my grand-daughter is a student at this school and she will be entering the 4th grade this year. My grand-daughter's reading level has excel to a very high level. I am very thankful and greatful for the support the teachers & principal as well as the other staff gives the parents & grand-parents alike. Thank you.


Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 2

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
The school has some minor discipline problems and need to catch up technologically with the other schools.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 1

Posted May 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 1

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 5

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter Ellen has attended PS134 since K and she's currently in the 3rd. This school has some the the finest teachers in the city. I have always been very pleased with Ellen's development especially since she has always been such a shy child. She's begun to bloom so promisingly. I thank the teachers and the principal for their endless efforts and support.

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 134 Henrietta Szold
293 East Broadway, New York, NY  10002
(212) 673-4470
Last modified Ps 134 Henrietta Szold is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 134 Henrietta Szold Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top