Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
6-8
Public
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 612

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a community member
I have been part of this school for over ten years - I have stayed because the school offers a safe, caring and academically-challenging atmosphere to the students. The technology and quality of teachers here are superb and the progress reports indicate that fact.


Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 3

Posted September 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 4

Posted October 03, 2007
- a community member
Eleanor Roosevelt junior high school isn't the worst school ever. As a former student, the teachers at I.S. 143, tried their hardest to teach and help their students learn as much as possible. Given the school is not perfect, but what school is? When I attended I.S. 143 I received as much assistance as I could need and ever want. Not only did I learn a lot, but I was also accepted to all the high schools that I applied for.
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
This is the worst school ever, this is my child first year and it was the worst experience everyone working there r so disorganize and lost...
1 person found this helpful


Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 5

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
I've had 4 children attend the school. I also attended 143 and so did my youngest sister. Every school has it's problems but to say that it is the worst school in america is going too far. The staff are always trying to improve and are always working together with parents to make it a safe and pleasant environment for our kids. I have seen school that are gated like prisons because of the violence. 143 Is one of the safest schools in nyc. Academically they push the kids to do there best they know them by name, how many schools know all of their students by name. It is a very safe and overall good school.
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 3

Posted April 20, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt 1

Posted December 07, 2004
- a parent
This school is one of the worst schools in America! Today a boy in seventh grade got hit by a chair by another student and was bleeding so much. This is no joke if you want your child to succeed then dont send them to that school. If you send your child to that school Im sorry to say but your child wont go far in life!
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt
511 West 182nd Street, New York, NY  10033
(212) 927-7739
Last modified Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 143 Eleanor Roosevelt Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top