Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Too many chefs in this school and no knows what the other is doing!!! They don't teach very well, especially if you have a child in special education. They're not really parent friendly, they just do the bare essentials to get them by. This school really needs a over haul, better administration and better teachers. This school has always had problems and to this date has gotten worst, in my opinion. I would not recommend this school to anyone I know.

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 1

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
this school is horrible just like p.s 325 its the Spanish schools that's messing up schools and districts shut these schools down


Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
PS 153 is a great place for quality education. The principal is not only super smart, but humane and caring. Its clear that there mission is to urgently provide quality education to all children.

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 4

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
My son is in the Dual Language program in first grade, this being his second year there, and my daughter just began in pre-k. I overall have been very happy with this school. The teachers are kind and friendly to students and parents. They are very much helpful in questions and concerns about my children's education. The arts programs are fantastic; last year my son took piano, vocal, general music class, drama, and art. They have a string orchcestra and a specialized arts intensive program for gifted children. There is a Dual Language program which teaches in both English and Spanish and a Gifted and Talented program. The drawback to this school is lack of parental involvement. If only more parents would get involved, this would definately be one of the top NYC public schools.

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 0
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school since September 2009 and this is an excellent school. The principal and teachers are very caring and always willing to talk to you about your childs progress. P.S. 153 is a very warm and nurturing school, my child has made so many new friends. This school has a very good Arts program. We are so blessed to be a part of this school.


Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 3

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 4

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended p.s. 153 for 2 years and we are fully satisfied and over joyed with his progress and abilities. Not only has he made nice friends but the staff and system has been enriching in both the arts and sciences. the teachers are caring, disciplined and enthusiastic. we are very lucky to be a part of a great public school.


Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 1

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in this school and i have her there because i have no other option but i think is the worst school, they don't have organization and they do not teach at all !!

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell 4

Posted August 18, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell
1750 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10031
(212) 927-8611
Last modified Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 153 Adam Clayton Powell Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top