Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 745
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 4

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Overall, I think it is a good school. However, my child also told me that teachers yell at the children, which is unacceptable. The school also feels overcrowded but this may not be within the school's control. The communication between the school and the parents can be much improved: many announcements are last minute, which makes it challenging for the working parents to plan in advance. The principal resigned at the end of 2014 and the announcement went out a week before. I found it to be unsettling. On the plus side, the school has a good extra-curricular roster of classes and my child goes on field trips regularly. Like everywhere else, there are pluses and minuses. So far, my child has been at ps 158 for one year, and we have not had any major issues.

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 2

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
At the end of the day, it is not much better than any other school. Plenty of dirty politics observed. Students also complain that teachers often scream in the classroom at the kids on a regular basis. Maybe they find it necessary, but how about leading by example? Academics are good, and the school has plenty of resources at its disposal. There are a few stellar staff members and teachers. Overall, their reputation is over hyped.


P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 4

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
I agree with a lot of the reviews that the secretary at PS 158 is unbelievably obnoxious. To be frank, I don't know why she still has a job given the number of parents who share that opinion! I'm assuming that it's some union rule. It'd be silly to judge a school based on just its secretary though. Our daughter is in Kindergarten and we love PS 158! Her teacher is excellent. The other kids in the class are all well-mannered and intelligent. All the parents are warm & friendly. Our daughter is progressing very rapidly in reading, writing & mathematics and she is very happy. In the end, that's all that really matters - not how rude the secretary is, but how your child is progressing and if she's happy. 4 stars for PS 158 (minus 1 star for the terrible secretary who always seems to be yelling at everyone!)

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 4

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
If you have to have your kid in this school BE AWARE you will be dealing with one of the rudest and most disrespectful school secretary in the school district. Several parents would confirmed she likes to talk down to people, her mercenary tone of voice and unhelpful behaviors will prove this fact.

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 3

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
The staff IS rude and mean to the children. The Principal does not make herself available and she does not interact with families. The teaching staff is strong but young and inexperienced. The general environment of the school is cold, unfriendly. The grown-ups in the school don't seem to like children. Since my child has been there she has developed the I-don't-like-school attitude and this is a really smart kid who used to love school. They've taken all the wonder and joy out of learning in favor of drilling students for test scores. Overall, we've been very disappointed.


P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 3

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Ughhh. Great scores. Some very talented teachers. But a nasty, rude staff. Most of whom act as if they secretly wish they worked in a private Catholic school in the 50's where they could yell at children and whack them with a ruler for bad behavior. It's utterly bewildering that these people have opted for a job or profession working with children when they appear to hate them so much and have no tolerance for kids acting like kids. The front office is run by a woman who yells at parents and kids. The after school is run by a woman who yells at parents and children. The lunch staff screams if kids are too noisy but ignores bullying by older kids and aggressive physical behavior by the younger kids in the playground. The principal puts up with this and in fact models it. Rude, entitled and judgmental staff. Talented teachers and amazing parents compensate for such a poorly run and uncaring administration.

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
If you want a competitive environment that is as good as a Private school if not better, then PS 158 is your School. The Principal is great,however, she does not suffer fools, so don't expect hugs over nonsense, the staff is amazing but also will not coddle you.From the guard that greets you in the morning to the teachers, PS 158 is formidable.They are kind and attentive to each student, they mix discipline and love in a way that conveys more a vocation rather than a job in Education.If you are lucky enough to have your child attend the Pre-k there, they will be reading and writing by the time they graduate and go to Kindergarden.Very grateful to have such a wonderful school. The PA is fantastic as well.

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 1

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
If you want your child to be bullied and made to feel insecure in a learning environment, then this is the place for you. The principal is a bully, the teachers are bullies and the children are too. Parents bully each other and even other children. It all starts from the top and trickles down. The principal only cares about state test scores. She doesn't care about children or creating a loving, nurturing, comfortable learning environment for them. The principal, teachers and office staff create a hostile and uncomfortable learning environment. I'm sure some of the teachers are very good but they can't perform to their full potential because they are bullied by the principal and feel threatened that if they don't follow her rules they will be fired. From day one of the academic year it has been nothing but TEST PREP. My child has learned nothing all year but 'how to take a state test'. The Parent Association is involved and they raise a lot of money for the school. There needs to be a complete re-haul of this school before any more tax-payer's money is wasted. I'm very disappointed in our experience at PS 158.


P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school. My child is very happy in PS158 and is thriving. I am impressed with the quality of education, and leadership. Anyone desiring more cultural experiences for their children and exercise should take them to the museums and parks after school, on weekends and holidays. That doesn't make or break the school. There are many extra curricular activities already offered.

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Our daughter has been attending PS 158 for 2 years now and we could not be happier. The education is excellent, much better than some private schools when comparing skills of same-age children, the communication is very good and the PA very active. The school environment is very pleasant and the staff is very friendly when you are polite with them, which may not be the case of some parents. We feel the kids are safe and respected. And I agree with the previous review: it is the role of the parents to take their kids to the museums, parks and other cultural activities during the weekends and holidays. The school should not be blamed for that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor
1458 York Avenue, New York, NY  10075
(212) 744-6562
Last modified P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
P.S. 158 Baylard Taylor Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top