Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 5

Posted June 28, 2014
- a teacher
While teaching at PS/MS 161 I enjoyed a successful school community because the team that worked there was professional and supported one another.

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 1

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
The elementary section is a nightmare. The Assistant Principal for fourth and fifth grade is a bully to both students and parents. The new principal, notwithstanding her numerous years as an assistant principal in the middle school is inept and seems to take instructions from the elementary school assistant principal. The teachers in the elementary school barely speak English. Many are young and have fewer than five years experience. This is reflected in their inability to manage the classroom. The school is also sadly lacking in diversity. The student and teacher population is about 85% Spanish speaking in the elementary grades. Many of these teachers do not know how to communicate with non-Spanish speaking children and seem to be uncomfortable having them in their classrooms. The result is that these teachers often unfairly criticize and unduly punish non-Spanish speaking children, who are then left to feel like outsiders.


P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 2

Posted March 02, 2012
- a community member
Honestly this school is awful, after inviting 7th and 8th grade there. I am a former student there and in the middle school students are not able to learn because of the students who miss behave. The school has adequate music department. Teaches are devoted to teaching but because of the reason most students miss behaving teachers have given up teaching.

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
This school should be rated #1 school in manhattan because Ps161 on 133rd street all the staff and teachers help parents and children to get all the help that is offered including parents workshops to help parents get back out there in the job market me personally I have a medically challenged child going there and It is hard to walk away from my child on a daily basis to school knowing that my child is sick but not with Ps 161 I can leave my son there and know that he is in safe hands and getting the proper education that is recommended to a child I just want to say thank you.... and honestly I wish I had enough money to give the school they truly need it for so much on behalf of the kids...

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 5

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 5

Posted April 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 5

Posted October 12, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 4

Posted August 22, 2005
- a former student
I went to this school and in my case I found it pretty good. The teachers never stayed long but the things that were offered to us as students was great we had new laptops that one of our assisant teachers got for us.The only thing is that the classes are limited not everything is taught to you.

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos 2

Posted July 25, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos
499 W 133rd St, New York, NY  10027
(212) 690-5945
Last modified P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.