Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Public
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 285

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 194 Countee Cullen 4

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
P.S. 194 is a struggling school insistent upon improving. The staff here does the best they can with the resources they have. Yes they do have some flaws, but what school doesn't? One thing they have more then flaws, is a staff of kind hearted and caring people who just need the support of the community and parent involvement. I have had two kids graduate from P.S.194 at the top of their class and go on to good schools. Plus two kids thriving there as well. At the end of the day we need to not only support our children and their educations. But also the school they go to.

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 3

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
It has been very apparent that since we got a new principal that the school has improved considerably. The movement towards more music and arts pograms has been great. There is a renewed enthusiasm in the school and the children seem excited about what is happenning.


Ps 194 Countee Cullen 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I am very glad to know that the school will not be phasing out grades k-2 next year. Last minute parent participation and with the hard work of C.O.R.E., the school will remain open. I am a parent of 2 children that attend the school, however I will not be letting my children return. The school is not academically up to par. My children will be attending a charter next year. I have chosen to better my children education instead of just letting them get by. P.S. 194M is in need of complete restructering. New teacher's, new staff, new administration. They have failed our children in the past 4 years why should we give them another year to continue to do so? Audrey Wilson, parent/ PTA Member

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 1

Posted October 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 0
no rating

Posted May 09, 2008
- a teacher
Student achievement has improved in the past few years according to standardized assessments. The school culture needs a lot of improvement. There are many behavior/ emotional issues within the student body and the school is not eqipped to deal with the volume. Many veteran teachers are resistant to change for best practices. They are burnt out. There are some great staff members that put forth much effort to build collaboration among staff community, but often burnt out due to the overwhelming lack of positive culture among students, teachers, and parent. Teacher tunover is high. A large portion of the student body is 'at-risk' academically and emotionally. The last couple of administrators have put forth much effort to improve the school. The school has improved, but it is still far below standards in many areas. This school would benefit from a complete restructure.


Ps 194 Countee Cullen 1

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
PS 194 is one of the worst schools in Harlem. My daughter failed Math last year. My daughter attended summer school and they didn't even give her 4th grade math. It had more to do with her attendance than it did with her actually learning. At the end of the summer, her grade was still at level 1 and she was promoted to the 5th grade anyway. All they are concerned with is getting descent grades on the city's standardized tests. They don't even teach the kids penmanship. Parents don't get involved because school's a daycare service. The school's phones have been out for 3 days...emergency! 194 is definitely not most improved.

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 1

Posted September 18, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 3

Posted March 24, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 194 Countee Cullen 3

Posted March 24, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 194 Countee Cullen 3

Posted June 25, 2004
- a former student
I agree. There needs to be better communication between parent and administration. There needs to be a better partnership between the two. This is what helps make a good and decent school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 194 Countee Cullen
244 West 144th Street, New York, NY  10030
(212) 690-5954
Last modified Ps 194 Countee Cullen is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 194 Countee Cullen Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top