Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
I want to give a super big THANKS to the Pre-K Teacher at PS198 Michelle Bellizzi! She is an amazing leader who is patient, kind and supportive of all the kids! My daughter was a quiet, reserved child when she entered pre-k. Now she laughs, participates and has many friends! She reads, writes and has definitely blossomed under Ms. Bellizzi's guidance

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are great at challenging the students that are advanced and helping those who need assistance!


Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
The KG Teacher Ms. Pappas for the G and T program is superb. Perhaps one of the best there is. Teaches the kids with a very gentle but firm hand. Cannot say enough good things about her.

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking into the G+T program, it is outstanding. The first grade G+T teacher was a 2014 Blackboard Award nominee. The Kindergarten G+T teacher exceeded our expectations as well. Besides the quality education my child is receiving, the PTA is great. Above all, the child loves the school!!!!

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
I had my reservations based on past reviews but when my child was accepted to the full-day preschool, I enrolled him. And, wow, this school blew my expectations out of the water! I was flabbergasted by the depth and diversity of what my child learned. His teacher was top-notch and the other parents cared about their children's development just as much as me. The enrichment programs (art, music, gym, media lab) are amazing. The administration is hands-on and nurturing and the PTA is blossoming. There were many opportunities to get involved and get to know the school, the staff and the fellow parents. My child loved going to school every day. He learned by leaps and bounds and I had absolutely no reservations when he was accepted into the school's gifted and talented program for kindergarten. As a testament to this school's strength, nearly all of my child's classmates will be attending PS 198 next year!


Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 4

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
PS 198 G+T program is fantastic. The kindergarten teacher more than adequately prepared the kids for first grade. They were excellent readers and writers mid year. She was a fantastic teacher, as well as warm and nurturing. My child ran to school every day and was very excited to go to science class, art, and music as well. They have a great program there called PLAYWORKS, in which the coach teaches the kids games that help build self esteem at recess. The enrichments to the curriculum are wonderful. The PTA plans so many wonderful events for familes to enjoy. We are truly happy with the school!

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
PS198 is blossoming!!! My child is in Kindergarten and has progressed tremendously. Our neighbors have their children in a parochial school and he is doing the work infirst grade that my child is in Kindergarten. The Science teacher is phenomenal and really puts her all into teaching. The art teacher is very knowledgeable and has exposed the children to a variety of artists. Every single teacher and administrator takes their job seriosuly and gives 100 percent. The kids are all treated like family and the Principal takes the time out to greet the kids in the morning and will always take the time to speak with parents. The PTA is strong and plans plenty of activities throughout the year. My child loves her Yoga class and Music.

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 4

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten this year and is BLOSSOMING. His teachers, the responsiveness of the administration and the overall school culture has exceeded my expectations. My son is reading and doing yoga and excited about his own learning. If you have reservations about this school based on past reviews, I suggest you take a school tour and talk to other parents.


Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
School has a nice community of parents and children and excellent PTA. Really enjoying sending our child to 198 and pleased with the education our child is receiving.

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
We have been at 198 for two years and are extremely happy with the schools. Our teachers have been amazing. They really got to know our son and his abilities and targeted his learning to his skill level. He has absolutely thrived in the school. The PTA has really taken off this year and has done some amazing fund raising. The parental involvement has grown tremendously - which was very welcomed by the admin staff and the teachers. Overally - very happy with our experience at the school.

Nearby schools

Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus
1700 3rd Avenue, New York, NY  10128
(212) 289-3702
Last modified Ps 198 Isador E Ida Straus is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top