Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 444 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


928 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stuyvesant High School 4

Posted November 22, 2014
- a student
Stuy is a place where ambitious, spirited kids of different personalities, interests, socioeconomic statuses, and ethnic backgrounds commute from all over the city to work, learn, and grow as people. As cheesy as this sounds, no matter who you are, you will, for the most part, find an accepting environment that values your individuality. The curriculums of the plethora of courses offered at the school have been well designed to challenge even the brightest students, and even the standard-level required courses are taught at levels far above those of most schools. On the other hand, I agree with the previous review of Stuyvesant calling it a "brutal factory school". Our averages are almost solely based off of difficult tests that are often multiple choice. Even on the tests that are not multiple choice, no free points are given. If you don't know or understand the material very well, you WILL fail. Despite being a specialized high school, the school does focus on city standards and has strict rules and requirements based on this. You will risk some of your well-being if you go to Stuy, but almost everyone says it is worth it.

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My school MCJHS is the best school. It is very small but but staffs are very dedicated. Most teachers are very much involved in state test preparation. Some of the teachers are extremely good, they encourage student to do excellent in their study.


Stuyvesant High School 3

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
Stuy has many brilliant brilliant kids. It is not competitive because the kids are mean - they aren't. It is competitive because the top colleges will only make a few offers and so everyone works hard to get to the top. This has led to a wide-spread culture of cheating. Also, it is too bad that many of the teachers aren't as smart as the kids. Some are great, but many are terrible teachers. The admin knows but can't get rid of them. My son had some horrible teachers for important science courses. Also, the school is so large, it is very hard to get issues addressed by the admin. If your kid never needs extra help, then it is all good. But if you need to work with the admin on anything - forget about it.
1 person found this helpful

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a community member
quite excellent!... since 1904... pls see www.ourstrongband.org. Neal H. Hurwitz, Executive Director. Publishers of The Centennial Book: Stuyvesant High School: The Fiorst 100 Years, 1904-2004. ILM of Frank McCourt, Sterling Jensen, Murl Thrush, James Cagney, et al. Thank you!!!

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a student
What I think others should know: There is a reason for this prestige. Kids aren't necessarily "geniuses" but they are hardworking. There's around 1 or 2 hours of homework everyday, but with computer science, it's more (coding takes time). On top of that is studying. What do I like: You can learn anything here. Everything is offered. Everyone in Stuy is really nice and has good morals. You learn what hard work is and determination is. It pushes you to your ultimate self. Improvement: Some downsides are that to achieve a 90 at Stuy requires you to study until 12am (for the most part). It's not an easy school. Everyone remains depressed and sleep deprived due to pressure to study. Some homeworks do not help since only tests are counted towards your grades. It would make you feel stressed out, 85% of the time. AP's aren't weighted either. Overall: Stuy has changed me as a person. Even if it doesn't get you into Harvard (due to low grades administered), it gives you knowledge and ability to carry on through hardship. It's 4 years of pain, dull mental and physical soreness. But it's a pain that also can leave a beautiful scar.


Stuyvesant High School 4

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school, my daughter really liked it, I went to the schools many times, the president was very nice to meet the parent if he is not busy, lots of out of school activities from all areas. it is hard to get in, lots of kids travel from different zones.

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted April 20, 2013
- a community member
Stuyvesant has been one of the best high schools in the country for many decades. More Nobel Prize winners have graduated from here than from all but a few colleges. After graduating I went to Cornell and Columbia; Stuyvesant was more intellectually challenging than either university. Every student here would likely have been at or near the top of the class at their local high school; here most will be average or below. If you view these facts as an opportunity to grow with the best and test your tue limits, welcome. If this doesn't appeal to you, that's fine; you may also reach your potential elsewhere. You just may have to do it more on your own, with less support from your school community.

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a student
When I was in 8th grade last year, my heart was completely set on Stuy, and my mother told me, if you're not willing to do well in school, there's no point. And there really isn't: this school is meant only for people who have the proper work ethic and are actually willing to put their heart and soul into their work. But I guess that's a good thing, because then you're surrounded by all these people who are so hard working and they've got their mind set on such a fixed goal, you've gotta admire their determination. That kind of perseverance is so amazing and at Stuy, even if you don't want to, you're forced to try your best. This school is simply amazing!


Stuyvesant High School 3

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of a Senior student, I find the lack of commitment from the teachers at Stuy extremely disappointing. The teachers had the audacity to deny a student a teachers recommendation. I am hoping and praying my child gets into a college of her choice ,as she was already denied the ED opportunity, thanks to the inability to get a 2 nd teachers rec.And to make matters worse, when I reached out to the parent teacher coordinator for help, it made matters even worse.Now my child is upset that I reached out to her school for help and fears retaliation.A word of advice to other HS Students parents- Do your own preparation to get your child into college. Don't expect a miracle from the staff and or Administration.They have 3 guidance counselors for 843 students. What can you expect from these so called guidance counselors when they are themselves sinking?I so want this school year to be over and see my child back to the land of norm and decency and courtesy, back to being a regular teenager, not looking like the world is weighing her down.
1 person found this helpful

Stuyvesant High School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
Stuyvesnt High School is a well-rounded and competitive public school that prepares students for their next journey to higher education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stuyvesant High School
345 Chambers St, New York, NY  10282
(212) 312-4800
Last modified Stuyvesant High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stuyvesant High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 928 reviews. Top