Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 89 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
It's a great community and wonderful educational institution . Very sincere and dedicated teachers . All teachers are very loving and committed to their job . I love the management , PTA and staff . We are very lucky our child studies here .

Ps 89 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
We love PS89! I have two sons at the school and both are thriving. The teachers are great, principal is involved and warm, PTA is unbelievable and the community is incredible! We feel lucky to be part of such an wonderful school.


Ps 89 1

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Why on earth does this school have a 10 rating? Except for its physical appearance the true rating should be no more than 5. Leadership is poor, curriculum is poor, atmosphere is dull. So glad be won't be back next year.

Ps 89 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
PS89 is a wonderful school. My oldest son is in 2nd grade and has been attending PS89 since kindergarten. My youngest is in Kindergarten there and has attended PS89 for Pre-K as well. Ronnie, the principal, knows every student by name and most parents too. She is kind, loving and respectful to them and those ethics shine in her teachers as well. Ronnie is very hands on and I always feel confident that she is on top of everything at the school. My husband and I feel very blessed and grateful that our children have the opportunity to attend PS89.

Ps 89 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
My two children attended from pre K- 5th grade (my youngest still at 89) and have been very pleased with their years at PS89. It has a sense of home away from home in which they felt happy and safe going to school. They made the curriculum interesting for a young child to get excited about. They have truly created an enviroment for a child to get a love for learning!


Ps 89 4

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
both my wife and i found p.s.89 to have well prepared and caring teachers. our daughter (our 2nd child to go thru nyc public schools) felt comfortable, enjoyed her teachers and classmates and improved academically. she also participated in an active arts and sports program. it is an all around good, neighborhood school.

Ps 89 1

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
Horrible school with a horrible principal who hires impossibly bad teachers. Our child had 3 teachers who were hired at the school and lasted one year only.

Ps 89 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a community member
i go to this school and i absoulutley love it! it has some great programmes like the ballroom dancing program and also other fansastic events like potluck and talent shows. not just that but it has a great education proggram and pretty much all the teachers are awesome!!! i love this school and i dont want to graduate this year! :( ps. it also has amazing things like aabout 50 mac availible to every student and its alsoo really clean and the atmosphere is amazing!! i really recommend it! :D


Ps 89 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from PS 89 in 2008 and I have been here since kindergarten. It's a great school - the principal knows everyone's name and occasionally stops by each classroom. I've had a great time here and I have learned many new things. For example, in my 6 years here, I have went aboard a police boat, created a bookstore, went on an overnight trip, held a bakesale, and so much more. We have homework daily and you can approach the teachers or staff at any time if you need any help. Let me just say... this is the best school ever; you should definitely come here.

Ps 89 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
We relocated to this school from Atlanta. While I felt less welcome to be involved in the classroom, I have to say that I absolutely found the teachers to be of the highest caliber. My son is very bright, but can be a slacker as he has dyslexia, yet his teachers managed to keep him engaged and encouraged his input, focusing on his abilities. The depth of research and study in the class has been amazing to see. I also found the satisfaction of the other parents in the class to be on par with my own, which does give me comfort that others feel the same way. When I see a review by a parent, where they slag off the school, I wonder what bar they are using to measure. Was that parent being objective? Have they had other experiences (not preschool)?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 89
201 Warren Street, New York, NY  10282
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (212) 571-5659
Last modified Ps 89 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top