Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
9-12
Public district
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 2,729
 

5 stars
Based on 369 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

594 reviews of this school


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Fiorello H Laguardia HS is still a great school. Under the direction of Dr. Mars, we have once again earned an A rating on the NYC School Report Card. Our children have not suffered or missed a beat in their academic progression under the leadership of Dr. Mars. The great teachers and the wonderful support staff continue to make our children their priority. What's disappointing; is the lack of parents involvement/voluntarism; or attendance at PA Meetings. This has not changed, whether it was Kim Bruno or Dr. Mars sitting in the principals office.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 3

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
Kim Bruno was an amazing visionary. F H LaGuardia was a great school when she was there. I am disgusted to see what the school has become under a visionless person like Mars. She is needs to go back to Queens.


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a student
The school days are long and suck the life out of me. I'm not sure how it was in the past, but now most people have schedules from 8:00 am to 4:10 pm. Three periods of art is tiring and has made me lose interest in the arts. Art majors get barely any attention and little to no care. The funding goes to drama majors. The academic classes are a joke. Some teachers are great but some are just terrible. Each class usually teaches directly from the textbook and never teaches anything that would deepen our understanding. I have a 98 average and have done basically no work all year. There are many kids that think that, just by wearing some generic clothes from Urban Outfitters, they are extremely artsy. So many kids smoke and do drugs it is ridiculous. There are some great kids, but there are also so many pretentious, rich, priviledged kids.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely amazing! They have brought together the most brilliant and talented minds all under one roof!

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 3

Posted October 31, 2013
- a student
Its pretty good. A lot of the kids do drugs, smoke and drink though. Its a crazy party school and a lot of kids ruin there lives here.


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
I want to go to this school so bad and i give this school a 5 from what i hear about it! I talked to so many people that go to laguardid high school and i love the passion!

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a student
My school is LaGuardia. I really love the teachers here. They're so kind and understanding. I think that this school could improve by shortening school hours or getting escalators that go down.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a student
It's a huge school but it's great! It has good academics (just watch out for some teachers) especially because it's still a Specialized High School. And obviously, it has great arts.


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 3

Posted June 23, 2013
- a student
Overrated school, but still has it's charm here and there. I would encourage everyone to find out how long it takes to get to this school and back - you'll most likely have at least one year where you have a 10 period day, from 8:00 am to 4:10 pm. Getting home at 6:00 or even 5:30, while having an hour and a half of homework, is draining. I can only speak for art students, so for them I'll say you'll only get to the fun stuff your junior and senior year. As for the academics, they're pretty good. Like in every school, there's going to be a few teachers that just don't know what they're doing, but don't worry, you can always transfer out of those classes at the beginning of the year. As for making friends, there's no real "cliques" or anything like that, but...it still can definitely make you feel left out, if you don't know where to look. All in all, remember it's just a school - nothing to get too amped up about.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a freshman - I was concerned about my daughter coming from a small JHS and going into this very massive HS. To my surprise, she adjusted well. She is still shy in making new friends; hopefully this will come with time. She is enjoying LAG immensely, and loves the idea of being able to do what she loves (sing) and be academically challenged at the same time. Looking forward to her sophomore year.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts
100 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10023
(212) 496-0700
Last modified Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 369 reviews. Top