Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
372 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 672 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Impossible to balance long studio schedule and obscene amounts of homework without working late into the night. For a commuter school this is a recipe for a very punishing daily schedule.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
LaG was a great school / life experience for our child and we feel truly privileged to have experienced it. The kids here are talented, the teachers are mostly great and the arts component really does help a student to become a more rounded individual. Yes, the day here is long and punishing, especially for those with long commutes, and this factor needs to be considered. Yes, there is grumbling in the school that with Dr. Mars (formerly from Townsend Harris) as a principal there is now more emphasis on academics with the arts side (and the special atmosphere) of the school taking a big hit. Some excellent teachers have resigned or transferred to different schools in the past year. This trend is troubling, since, while many talented kids are talented both academically and artistically, there are other potential candidates whose artistic talents far eclipse the academic ones. Under the current leadership they would miss out on the excellent arts training that the school has been able to offer. Too bad - after all, who remembers the screen and stage stars for their academic prowess? Lastly, and hopefully someone from LaG administration is reading this, the last day for Seniors this year, when they had to come to school just to get their diplomas and say goodbye to the school that has become so dear to them, has been mishandled. Nearly 700 students had to wait outside the school, while 10 at a time were allowed in to get their diplomas and then asked to leave the building. That was it - no sentimental farewells, no warm goodbyes. Left a real bad impression on the kids who came to close that chapter of their lives - I can say that much. Hopefully the school administration can take a corrective action on this snafu in the future and, overall, keep LaG a truly special place we found it to be.


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 1

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
This is the worst school I have ever been to. School starts at 8 and ends at 4:10, and I live in Brooklyn so it takes 2 hours to get home. I then have three hours of difficult homework, and no late homework is accepted. The children here are exclusive, and if you come here with no kids from your middle school, you will have no friends. I made the biggest mistake of my life and I am paying the price.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
In this column, many students complain for long day and their schedule. My son is in dance major, he starts at 8 and finishes at 4:10, then go straight to his own dance class outside of the school until 7. Yes it's really long day but this is their life. They have normal academic curriculum and studio work. You have to be ready and understand before come to this school. Some kids loose themselves and some are working so hard for their dreams. Any other high schools ate the same. Some kids win, some kids don't. If you want to spend 4 years meaningless, go to local schools. This school is for hardworking talented kids.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Fiorello H Laguardia HS is still a great school. Under the direction of Dr. Mars, we have once again earned an A rating on the NYC School Report Card. Our children have not suffered or missed a beat in their academic progression under the leadership of Dr. Mars. The great teachers and the wonderful support staff continue to make our children their priority. What's disappointing; is the lack of parents involvement/voluntarism; or attendance at PA Meetings. This has not changed, whether it was Kim Bruno or Dr. Mars sitting in the principals office.


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 3

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
Kim Bruno was an amazing visionary. F H LaGuardia was a great school when she was there. I am disgusted to see what the school has become under a visionless person like Mars. She is needs to go back to Queens.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a student
The school days are long and suck the life out of me. I'm not sure how it was in the past, but now most people have schedules from 8:00 am to 4:10 pm. Three periods of art is tiring and has made me lose interest in the arts. Art majors get barely any attention and little to no care. The funding goes to drama majors. The academic classes are a joke. Some teachers are great but some are just terrible. Each class usually teaches directly from the textbook and never teaches anything that would deepen our understanding. I have a 98 average and have done basically no work all year. There are many kids that think that, just by wearing some generic clothes from Urban Outfitters, they are extremely artsy. So many kids smoke and do drugs it is ridiculous. There are some great kids, but there are also so many pretentious, rich, priviledged kids.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely amazing! They have brought together the most brilliant and talented minds all under one roof!


Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 3

Posted October 31, 2013
- a student
Its pretty good. A lot of the kids do drugs, smoke and drink though. Its a crazy party school and a lot of kids ruin there lives here.

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
I want to go to this school so bad and i give this school a 5 from what i hear about it! I talked to so many people that go to laguardid high school and i love the passion!

Nearby schools

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts
100 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10023
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 672 reviews. (212) 496-0700
Last modified Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top