Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
248 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
St. Mark's is a great school that promotes values and develops character. The curriculum for Kindergarten is great! But, Mrs. Gordon is GREATER! The way her and Ms. Levie engage the students and encourage them to be better human beings is exceptional. They are attentive and communicate well with parents. I also love the fact that Mr. Allen the Principal knows all of the kids by name. Yes, St. Mark's is a good choice.

St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently in Pre-k4 and she's already reading, adding and subtracting! She's doing exceptionally well! Mrs. Kelly is awesome! She's caring, attentive and super passionate about her job, or better yet; her babies as she often refers to them. True to her word, my daughter has become very independent and not only is she learning new things but she's understanding the concepts as well. I'm very pleased with her pre-k experience. Mrs. Kelly is the best, hands down!!!


St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Excellent Pre-School education. My daughter attended Pre-K3 and Pre-K4 and at the end of Pre-K4 she is reading simple books, doing basic addition, subtraction. She also learnt values on being a good human. Teachers, Ms. Kelly, Ms. Gillian, Ms. Denise, Ms. Allison are very loving and caring and pay great attention to students. This school is a hidden gem in harlem.

St Mark The Evangelist School 4

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
Great school. New principle is excellent with kids. My daughter went to this school a few years back and I didn't like the old principle. She didn't seem to care about the kids future. Once she left I put I her back in. She has come a long way thanks to the staff at St.marks.

St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
My Daughter has been in this school since she was 3 yrs. LOVE the teacher to parent relationship. Excellent teachers, I love Love what the new principal has brought, may he continue to have such a stron will power to help our children. cant wait for my son to start his education there.


St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
My son and my daughter have attended St. Mark the Evangelist since Pre-K 3. They are now in first and second grade and I have been impressed with the St. Mark the Evangelist faculty and how they are pushing the envelope academically. I'm a public school teacher and I see how the St. Mark the Evangelist faculty have been teaching above the new Common Core Standards before they were implemented. In comparison to public schools, both of my children have been performing one full year to two years above grade level at St. Mark the Evangelist. I'm not only impressed with how the faculty pushes the envelope academically, but my husband and I appreciate the sense of family and community at St. Mark the Evangelist. My children feel loved and safe at school. My husband and I are proud to say that our children attend St. Mark the Evangelist and we would recommend St. Mark the Evangelist to other families that want a faculty that pushes the envelope academically while providing a nurturing environment.

St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
I am more than impressed with St. Mark's! My daughter is in Kindergaten and I cannot praise Mrs. Gordon enough! I am pleased with the curriculum, the staff, and the new principal. Everyone is friendly and warm and my daughter is being taught moral values that we reinforce at home. Even the older students demonstrate manners with both parents and the school staff. I satisfied with my choice to send her here; even after others warned me that I should strongly consider the charter schools. I am glad that I trusted my own instincts.

St Mark The Evangelist School 1

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
St. Marks needs to make changes to the curriculumn, some teachers, and most importantly the support staff(teachers aides) alot of them are under qualified and do not know how to interact with the children. Hopefully the new Principal will see these problems and fix them sooner than later.


St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
St. Marks offers a warm and friendly environment for the children to feel loved and secure. My son has been in St. Marks since Pre-3 and he's now in the 6th grade. St. Marks communicates weekly with the parents so you know how your child is doing on an ongoing basis. There is a new Principal who started last year by the name of Mr. Allen and impressed is an understatement of what I ve seen him accomplish in that year. Educationally the school is growing in the right direction. Mr. Allen has partnered up with various organization and brought various extracurricular activities to the school such, as ball-room dancing, piano and chess just to name a few.

St Mark The Evangelist School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
My son successfully completed Third Grade! He was a new student to St. Marks. He is now looking fdw to a following year and so am I. I love the progress in his reading. The Principal and staff are all very supportive making me and my son welcomed into this new educational family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mark The Evangelist School
55 West 138th Street, New York, NY  10037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (212) 283-4848
Last modified St Mark The Evangelist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top