Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
261 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
It's very unfortunate that some people are trying to create this upperclassmen vs. underclassmen divide. For the past three years Saint Stephen Students have been accepted to some of the best high schools in the city: Regis, Loyola, Marymount, Xavier, Dominican Academy. Obviously something is being done right.

St. Stephen of Hungary School 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
The upperclassmen are treated like dirt, my child has learned absolutely nothing, and doesn't even learn the Catholic Religion.


St. Stephen of Hungary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
There is an upperclassmen science teacher who doesn't even know the material he's teaching, and is constantly teaching the children the wrong thing

St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
This is a truly special place for children to receive their education. A hidden gem in the upper east side, so lucky to have found it!

St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
St Stephens is a wonderful school- both nurturing, academic, and collaborative. If you are looking for a traditional Catholic school with 1950's learning environment then St Stephens is definitely not for you. All grades are seated at tables not lecture style desks. They spend their time in the computer lab, science lab, library, learning French, violin, and most importantly, reading, writing and math. The staff while young, are all professional, nurturing, and top notch (most have earned Masters degrees- from Columbia). The parent community is very strong and very active. Its truly a family at St Stephens.


St. Stephen of Hungary School 1

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
These cheerleading reviews are from koolaid drinkers already in the school. Recent parish consolidation might bring bigger changes too. The St Stephen's church next to the school is closing. The school operates at a loss. Will St Monica's absorb the loss? Remains to be seen. The kids who go to the school don't attend the local churches which makes the problem worse. The school is dated too. You get a cross fit workout everyday running up and down the stairs. Is there a PhD on staff? Is there a mental health professional on staff? Is there a priest or a nun on staff. No. No. and No. Are the teacher's underpaid? Yes. Is the future cloudy? Yes. The passengers on the Titanic were warm and nurturing too. Still sank.

St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
A gem on the Upper East Side, St. Stephen's is truly a wonderful neighborhood school. With its small class size and supportive environment, any child would thrive. My husband and I are both products of Catholic education and when we were looking for a school for our child, we were thrilled to find St. Stephen's. It is of great importance that our child comes away with a deeper understanding of their faith and coupled with daily religion classes and weekly Mass, St. Stephen's has encouraged an awareness of the powerful role the students play in giving back to the larger community. St. Stephen's has taken an active role in many Service Projects and as an active parent in the school, I am thrilled to be a member of this Community.

St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a teacher
As a faculty member I feel lucky to be a part of this great community. I have worked at a number of schools and I have never come across a more active and caring parent body. My colleagues are supportive and always willing to help me. The administration is always available for questions and concerns. The overall feeling of the school is warm and nurturing while challenging everyone to be life long learners.


St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school! Teachers are passionate about teaching and very caring toward children. Children learn a great deal while being surrounded by a great sense of community. Paying so little for excellent private education is such a blessing.

St. Stephen of Hungary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
I am impressed! My daughter is in kindergarten here, and her teacher is amazingly poised and caring. The parents very involved in making the school the best it can be, and the principal and staff are top notch. I feel so lucky to be a part of this school, and i think my daughter is really going to thrive here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Stephen of Hungary School
408 E 82nd St, New York, NY  10028
(212) 288-1989
Last modified St. Stephen of Hungary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Stephen of Hungary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top