Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

9-12|Private
493 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Vincent Ferrer High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
The students have empathy, compassion and respect for human dignity at this school?????? Glad you three people think so! Your daughters must be very popular! If what you say is true then why are some girls shunned every day and people move away when they try to sit with them. New parents... your daughter will be in a school where the students degrade others and cause them to spend lunch hour crying in the bathroom.

St Vincent Ferrer High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 01, 2016
- a student
Grading system is weird. In alot of the classes it seems that if you fail something the grade goes down by alot of points but if you pass the same kind of quiz for example the grade only goes up by 1 or 2 points.


St Vincent Ferrer High School 3

Posted February 28, 2016
- a student
This is a very goods school education wise. However the kids are very clique oriented and the school inclusion policy is not enforced. There was a safety issue this year concerning the lives of students and faculty. God only knows if the person who made the threat was ever found.

St Vincent Ferrer High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
The school's culture promotes empathy and compassion. The students have it for each other and have it for those less fortunate.

St Vincent Ferrer High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
The culture is very strong. They respect human dignity in all of its forms. They promote an atmosphere of mutual respect.


St Vincent Ferrer High School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has thrived at Saint Vincent Ferrer. It is a wonderful school with great, caring teachers. My daughter has met and befriended a lot of great girls and she loves going to school. The work is challenging but the teachers provide great support.

St Vincent Ferrer High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
Of course, if you plan on taking more arduous courses, there will be more homework. It is fairly manageable, but there will definitely be some nights when you'll be exhausted.

St Vincent Ferrer High School 5

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
First, Saint Vincent Ferrer is not an easy school. You will be academically challenged, especially if you plan on taking advanced courses, but there will always be various forms of aid to guide you. Most of the teachers are extremely willing to go above and beyond to help their students. Furthermore, it offers a wide array of extracurricular activities. There are various opportunities for students to be involved in not only the school, but also the community. Thus, there will never be a secluded student in this school, and you will never find a more welcoming environment.


St Vincent Ferrer High School 2

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
So far my daughter and I are so disappointed with the school and some of the faculty. This school came highly recommended and we were so excited that she was going there but that has changed. Let me start by stating that my daughter is no stranger to the catholic school system. She has attended since kindergarten but since coming here her views have changed a bit. She doesn't feel supported is willing to travel to a school father away with hopes of getting better support and a better phys Ed program. Also I find there is no effort from the teachers or the principal to support the freshman (I'm trying to be general in hopes that my daughter isn't being picked on). And that's only one issue. There are many more limitations unfortunately. Favoritism is rampant unfortunately. The academics are decent but teaching styles are not always great; they do offer after school help for some subjects which is good. They also don't alway have room in the honors classes for all eligible students so a student may miss out on the opportunity to be challenged which I feel is unfair. In my opinion this is not a great school. It's just an ok one. We are again, very disappointed.

St Vincent Ferrer High School 2

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent to a freshman, who is apart of the class of 2018. I have another daughter who is a senior this year who will be graduating in the next month. To be completely honest I was so happy with this school when my daughter who is a senior, was first starting out. Now that my other daughter is a freshman this school has definitely degraded and the students are held on a standard if they are a freshman, sophomore, junior, senior. I would expect that from a public school not from a catholic school. Everything is a double standard and the rules for one have become more strict and a lot more ridiculous. The students are not heard and not listened to and neither are the parents. If you want to deal with the aggravation go ahead and send your daughter here. I wouldn't recommend it. My daughter who is a freshman gets at least four hours of homework and is in no honors classes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Vincent Ferrer High School
151 East 65th Street, New York, NY  10065
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (212) 535-4680
Last modified St Vincent Ferrer High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top