Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

K-8|Private
375 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Transfiguration School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
Teacher Jennifer was phenomenal with my daughter. Patient, caring, and strict. Thank you for doing a great job.

Transfiguration School 5

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
This rating applied to the pre-K program, as I have no knowledge of the other campus. The principal is the best educator I have ever know, and I come from a family of educators. She knows every student by name, and is very approachable. When we had a problem, the principal personally looked into it to help fix it. She balance of strictness and compassion. The teachers follow the principals lead in striking an excellent balance between discipline and compassion. They are dedicated and generous people who genuinely love their work. Finally, the pre-K is excellent at developing the sense of community.


Transfiguration School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
I am surprised by the harsh reviews of this school, it is great. The day is long and structured, however, the children learn so much they are well ahead of their peers in public school. They encourage and expect parental participation. It's very family-centered. It's a wonderful alternative to a G&T program. They offer a nice balance of academics and extra curricular programs including art, yoga, mandarin, Chinese culture, piano, dance, swimming. It is really a great value, in particular for working parents, who require after school care. They even have a Lego League for older children. Their summer program is one of the best values in the city. I look forward to my child continuing to thrive here.

Transfiguration School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, you'll find a lot of things to like about this school. The teachers are dedicated and the quality of the academic education is high. You'll probably question that balance between work and play and you won't necessarily welcome the stress of trying to get 4 and 5 year old children to do an hour of homework every night (particularly after a 9 hour day at school.) Do kids flourish under these conditions? The real problem with this school will become apparent when you have an issue which merits being raised with the principal in charge of pre-K. Parents leave her office confused and upset and feel they don't have a voice (although they will be told that they do - "my door is always open" is a typical phrase). If you find yourself in that situation, the answer is simple: stop responding to the endless fundraising requests that the school sends you. If enough people do this, then you will certainly have a voice. When the principal starts to treat parents and teachers with the respect that they deserve, then this school will really start to shine.

Transfiguration School 2

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
teachers can be very kind, but the principles can be really harsh and hurt the children and make them cry! and it's a disrespect. child abuse.


Transfiguration School 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a gem. The principal in the early childhood campus makes every child feel welcomed and special. She greets and addresses each child in the morning by their names. The elementary school is a stricter environment where children learn to be responsible and respectful. The principal in the elementary school is also very approachable. There are these parents that want to run the school because they feel that they are paying and have the right. My child is heading to second grade. His kindergarten and 1st grade teachers have prepared him well for second grade. Love this school!

Transfiguration School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
I have two children who attends this school. One child struggles and the other does well academically. The support the school provide for both children is beyond excellent. The school caters to the child who struggles with immense help in order for that child to perform at the same level as his peers. The Other child who does well is constantly encouraged, motivated, and challenged to reach his highest potential. It seems that both children are getting the individualized attention they need. As a parent, I cannot ask for more.

Transfiguration School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
This school provides a well rounded program and my child gets the necessary support from teachers and staff to develop. In addition to academics, my child has opportunities to grow in music, public speaking, and art. The school is able to give professional evaluation of my child's unique development. My child started as a selective mute at this school in early childhood level and then gradually received support to speak up and excel. In seven years at this school, my child found many public speaking opportunities: reading scripture at school mass, giving presentation in class, giving small talk to share reading experience with younger students at summer school, and competing at speech bee. It is a great school not just for those destined to go to specialized high school, but also for those who are motivated and those who believe they can find their strength with discipline.


Transfiguration School 2

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The school is very strict about education. Their good academic results are due to all the additional courses their students take on weekends. Students are learning in a robotic way, there is very little room for thinking creatively. Children just need to be obedient otherwise they will try to push you out. The administration has low ethics and the principal shows poor leadership and is seen as god by parents.

Transfiguration School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
Former student, transferred to public school. The principal and teachers are strict but still not that hard on you. Great school as always.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Transfiguration School
29 Mott Street, New York, NY  10013
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (212) 962-5265
Last modified Transfiguration School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top