Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

9-12|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Notre Dame School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a community member
My two daughters have attended this school for three years now. They are both very happy with their experience. They have met very nice friends. The teachers are strict but caring. The principal and Sister Virginia are wonderful. There are sports teams as well as basketball/soccer/running clubs. There are also many other clubs such as girls who code, spirit squad, glee, choir, music club, drama and steppers. It is a diverse, happy well run school in a beautiful building. I would recommend it to all without reservation.

Notre Dame School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Teachers treat the students and parents like customers. They know you can go somewhere else, including free options. So they put in a full effort every day. There's no one I've seen who's lazy or mailing it in.


Notre Dame School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Classes in science, math and English, in particular, are demanding. Girls have to study hard to get a good grade. They are taught to try, try again.

Notre Dame School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Above all, girls are taught to respect themselves. Only then can they learn to respect others.

Notre Dame School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
This school encourages the Catholic practice of faith, hope and charity. Girls are expected to do community service.


Notre Dame School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
This school encourages the Catholic practice of faith, hope and charity. The focus is on developing academics and a moral compass. Girls must sign a "I did not cheat" statement on each test.

Notre Dame School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Top 11 reasons why I like Notre Dame: 1: Academics are challenging. (no comparison with the lazy public school style I experienced with another child.) 2. Teachers are hard-working and prepared. (they don't mail-it-in; they know each girl) 3. Girls are friendly and approachable. (they're teenagers, so no one's perfect.) 4. Great location in the West Village near the Meatpacking District and Highline. 5. Tuition is reasonable compared with competitors. Dominican is 50% more expensive.. And there's no application or essays...just list ND on the high school entrance test. 6. Parents are encouraged to participate in school life. Fundraising is kept to a minimum. 7. Always clean and beautifully maintained. 8. Excellent communication from the administrators. 9. Plenty of after-school activities. 10. True diversity of color, economic background, neighborhoods (Westchester, all 5 boros and NJ) and experiences. 11. No boys!

Notre Dame School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 16, 2015
- a student
Thanks to all the teachers for giving me a mediocre education. Not preparing your students for the AP Exams and then laughing at them when they told you how underprepared they really were


Notre Dame School 5

Posted December 24, 2013
- a parent
Daughter attends school. She is taking advanced mathematics and science courses. More importantly she is learning to be an ethical and caring woman. Good college preparation.

Notre Dame School 1

Posted October 11, 2013
- a student
Notre Dame , is a very excellent school in my opinion , but i will say the girls are very mean and hurtful. Right now i am a current Sophmore about to transfer. i loved it freshman year , but now i hate it . The girls are mean , all about themselves and they will make it be known. Now , if your daughter isn't the type to socialize then don't send her here because it's not the place for her girls will chit chat about her being weird and all that bad stuff. In my opinion , send your child to Cathedral High School . Much better than Notre Dame they want you to believe that it's an " our home " situation . NO it's about trying to stay in the crowd not get picked on and understand where you fit in . It's almost like a caste system , when you go into Notre Dame you got to know where you fit in.

Nearby schools

Notre Dame School
327 W 13th St, New York, NY  10014
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (212) 620-5575
Last modified Notre Dame School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top