Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
267 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
I want to say thank you to everyone - to the Principal, who is so dedicated to making Blessed Sacrament the best school it can be for my children, to the teachers who are so dedicated and care so much about my children, to the staff who are always kind and responsive, and to our great Parents Association, who give so much of their time and energy to the PA.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very effective. I can see my children applying what they learn in school on a daily basis. They are well taught and retain their knowledge from year to year. The teachers really care about their students, and make sure they are given work that is appropriate for them.


School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Students start having homework in Pre-K 4 at Blessed Sacrament. The homework and required time commitment are always age appropriate -- starting as weekly home work in Pre-K 4 and building up to daily homework in 1st grade. Giving homework as early as Prek_4 helps develop the habit and routine of homework as a part of the school year, and also reinforces what they are learning in school.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Yes, these traits are also encouraged at the School of the Blessed Sacrament. Students are taught to stick with it, even when they are having a hard time.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Wherever I go, people always tell me that my kids are extremely respectful and polite. Blessed Sacrament educates the whole child -- not just core skills like reading and math. Students know from an early age that they must be respectful to their teachers, school staff, their fellow students and themselves.


School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, caring and empathy are also character traits that are consistently modeled by teachers and staff, and celebrated at Blessed Sacrament. These values are instilled in students, starting at the PreK-3 level, which provides a better learning environment.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Honesty, integrity and fairness are integral to the School of the Blessed Sacrament's mission and are incorporated in all aspects of its students' learning. These character traits are specifically discussed in class, and demonstrated by Blessed Sacraments' teachers and staff. Blessed Sacrament also celebrates these core character traits, and others, such as generosity, thankfulness, diligence, tolerance, courage, etc., by recognizing a student from each class in Kindergarten through 8th grade, on a monthly basis, who exemplifies the trait of the month. The students are aware of these important character traits, and strive to act that way. It also shows the students that the way you act and treat others is as important as the grades you receive.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Our involvement with the School of the Blessed Sacrament ("SBS") started six years ago, when my son started PreK-3. Both of my children attended pre-school at SBS and are now students in SBS' elementary school. We are zoned for PS 199, but wanted a smaller learning environment, where the school administration and the teachers would know our children by name. We are so happy with our choice! SBS is an excellent school. My children are consistently challenged in their classes, learning more than their peers at other schools. They are also in a warm and nurturing environment, where the teachers know their strengths and weaknesses. Even the Principal and others in the school administration know their names and their personalities. The teachers and the school administration have always been very accessible and responsive in addressing any questions or concerns that we have. I love that my children are happy and excited to go to school every morning!


School Of The Blessed Sacrament School 5

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
My son is in 2nd grade and he has been with Blessed Sacrament (SBS) since Pre-K4. We are very happy with the school. 1)Administration. The administration changed two years ago and we saw a significant improvement in the school. One impactful change was to assign two principals - one for lower grade (Pre-K to 4th) and another for the higher grade (5th-8th). 2) Academics. There has been an increased emphasis on academics and this is made clear to both the students and the parents. Online tools and the test/homework results that are shared with the parents help me understand my son's grades. Summer homework is great as they prepare my son for the next school year. I have observed tremendous progress in my son's learning during the school year and the end of the school year. 3) Technology. The school promotes technology as a means of teaching and educating the students. Each classroom has a smart board, teachers use online tools to interact with parents. My son was learning coding in computer class when he was in 1st grade. Each student has an iPad in computer class. 4) Afterschool. The school has an Aftercare Program and Afterschool Enrichment Program. Aftercare allows students to stay in school until 5:30 pm after regular dismissal. A teacher stays w/ the students in Aftercare and helps them do homework. The Enrichment program has an impressive portfolio of classes (soccer, chess, science etc...) Both Aftercare and Enrichment programs are organized by the Parent's Association. There are extra fees for these programs. 5) Character Formation. One would say that character formation is almost a given as the school is a Catholic school. Having gone to Catholic school myself, I can see that SBS fosters character formation in a more encouraging way, appropriate to modern times. Every month they have a character theme e.g. respect in October etc.. 6) Parent's Association. The school has a strong Parent's Association with dedicated and committed parents. The PA is a good foundation for the school. Fund raising activities are always fun for students and parents alike. 7) Indoor and Outdoor Space. Indoor common space is limited but the church has renovated its basement so the school has access to a huge space with new floors and a theatre! The PA is working with the Community Board to close the street in front of the school for outdoor space during school recess.

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
My two daughters have been at SBS for 5 years. We have seen improvements every year, and due to new admin. and parent involvement, feel confident this trend will continue. It is not for everyone, then again what school is? It is a traditional Catholic education, with lovely, energetic, creative, young staff. It is intimate, safe, warm, and friendly. The teachers and admin. are interested in parents' opinions and talents. It is a school open to new ideas. We have been very happy to be a part of the SBS community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School Of The Blessed Sacrament School
147 West 70th Street, New York, NY  10023
(212) 724-7561
Last modified School Of The Blessed Sacrament School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
School Of The Blessed Sacrament School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top