Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Epiphany Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
This review is for Pre-K only. We were very disappointed by the huge class size. Twenty five kids and only 1 teacher and 1 teacher's assistant. The kids are so young and little but the Pre-K teacher is not nurturing or sympathetic. As a parent we want to trust a teacher who has decades of experience but I think the decades of experience has left the teacher jaded and uncaring. It's sad to see a teacher who was probably once very good. She can't be bothered with children who don't fit the mold. She expects the children to bring classroom donations down to the classroom by themselves. If you hand her any donations, instead of saying thank you she says "okay?" Like you have inconvenienced her. If your child is a follower and does not have emotions or opinions, then they will do fine in her class. We spoke to the school psychologist about some issues our child was having and she was also unhelpful. She referred us to a place that costs several thousand dollars just for a consult.

Epiphany Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter will complete Kindergarten this June at Epiphany and I am happy to report that we are extremely pleased with the overall experience. The school has a great curriculum that makes good use of the latest technologies. Additionally, each week we get a printed overview of the weekly course of study, which allows us to stay informed about what our daughter is learning each week. The school also nurtures a fun, inclusive environment where teachers and parents work together to achieve mutual goals.


Epiphany Elementary School 4

Posted February 02, 2014
- a community member
I love this school and am sad to graduate this year, but I will visit frequently.

Epiphany Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
I am a recent graduate of this cheap school. I HATED 7th and 8th grade. The teachers are 100% sexist. They treat boys a lot better than girls for no reason other than practically all of the teachers are women. I don't believe I received a quality education. Bullying is a huge issue in our school and it is NEVER addressed. All of our tests purely evaluate our memorization skills. It is ridiculous. I do not recommend this school to anyone. This school's only drive is money. There is a 70% white population. There is no diversity. Being different is not celebrated or embraced. All of the teachers point out your little mistakes. They are all nit picky. Each of the teachers have favorites in the class. I am so glad I graduated from this lazy money driven school. I honestly hope it's gotten better, though I highly doubt it has.

Epiphany Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
I have attended this school and I do not recommend enrolling your child at the Epiphany School. I have friends who went there their whole lives and said they loved their experience in the lower school. However, our grade was in agreement that the upper school is terrible. The teachers either have no control over their class or scream at children. Also, bullying is a major issue that isn't taken care of. Many students feel unsafe going into classes, because teachers are rude and students are disrespectful. No one feels comfortable going to the guidance counselor. Way to small of a school, unless you like cliques. This is a terrible, cheap, and disgusting place. I hope it changed since I graduated.


Epiphany Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a community member
It isn't hard to explain by me. This is simply not an education. It is nothing but a money fest for the principal and Catholic sexism it its finest.

Epiphany Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
My children have had a terrific experience at this school. They are challenged every day in class, and receive all of the extras that make the school special: Physical education, art, music, language instruction, computers, iPads, etc. Principal Hayes is terrific and has the long-term experience that allows him to deal with situations with perspective. The financial support of the school's foundation keeps the technology current and provides teaching assistants in all of the younger grades. The parent association is very active and welcoming, providing tons of extras like dances, carnivals, a film festival, school musicals etc. Most importantly, the education that the students receive gets them into the top high schools in NYC, both Catholic and public: Regis, LaGuardia, Bronx Science, etc. If the students work hard (lots of homework) and do their best, they can be assured of being competitive with all of the students in other schools competing to get into the best high schools.

Epiphany Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
This school is the best kept secret in NYC. I don't mind sharing this because my kids have already been accepted. The school combines old fashioned work ethic and manners, with progressive teaching. The students receive both spanish and mandarin instruction and there are smart boards and ipads in the classrooms. The school is catholic but the community is inclusive and the religious instruction is nothing but uplifting.


Epiphany Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
We have 2 children attending Epiphany school, and we have been very pleased with the school. My kids are very different in terms of learning styles, and both have been nutured and instructed in a way that brings out the best in them. The parent involvement and community feeling are a huge part of attending the school!

Epiphany Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
Excellent principal, teachers, parents. Great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Epiphany Elementary School
234 East 22nd Street, New York, NY  10010
(212) 473-4128
Last modified Epiphany Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Epiphany Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top