Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Cathedral School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy with our decision to send our children to the Cathedral School. The combination of academic quality, teacher talent, and overall positive school culture makes it a true standout in the independent school marketplace. As our oldest prepares to explore high schools, we are increasingly aware of the leadership development opportunities he has had - academically and athletically - in this K-8 environment. When he gets ready for college he'll know exactly what he's doing. Ask to see the college lists of Cathedral alums when you apply -- you'll be blown away!

The Cathedral School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
The Cathedral School has been a wonderful experience or our family. All aspects of education are given the highest attention. The teachers are so engaged and committed to making the rigorous curriculum accessible to all students. The sports program is fantastic, with a very high percentage of students participating in JV and Varsity sports. The school is also very committed to a diverse student population. All of the families in our children's classes are down-to-earth and lovely. We feel very lucky to have had the Cathedral experience.


The Cathedral School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
My children have been very happy and have learned so much at this school over the last 6 years. The community has a strong commitment to diversity of all kinds, including socioeconomic diversity, which is very rare in NYC private schools. 40% of students receive some level of financial aid. The school also actively teaches social justice and community service. Bottom line, Cathedral graduates some of the best educated and genuinely compassionate kids around!

The Cathedral School 4

Posted January 26, 2012
- a community member
As an upper schooler who s been at the school since Kindergarten, I ve thrived in Cathedral s atmosphere and learned a lot from some outstanding teachers - and had some trouble with others, but personal vendettas aside, Cathedral is an excellent school. I have paid attention as tuition has nearly doubled since my family joined the community more than a decade ago, and I ve watched as the administration and other powerful figures at Cathedral have started to morph the school s image into a somewhat elitist one. They ve now spent millions of dollars needlessly to rearrange and reconstruct parts of the landmarked building so that it may become a 21st Century School . The school may be headed down a path that ends in disaster, but that doesn t detract from the reality that my education has been exceptional.

The Cathedral School 3

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
Our child has had an OK experience at Cathedral-glad to have her graduating though. Some teachers are interested in really trying to help your child- others not so much. One drawback is their lack of a Math specialist. Also, it seems like there is a high turnover of teachers. The parent body is terrific and many administrators are warm and responsive.


The Cathedral School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

The Cathedral School 1

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Cathedral School 1

Posted April 02, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


The Cathedral School 3

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
The tuituion has gone up 43% in 4 years ostensibly to hire and retain well trained faculty. The effort seems to be very disjointed with uneven hiring and an inordinate amount of shifting teachers among grades.

The Cathedral School 1

Posted February 14, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Cathedral School
1047 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10025
(212) 316-7500
Last modified The Cathedral School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
The Cathedral School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.