Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
6-12
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 196
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Professional Children's School 1

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
HORRIBLE SCHOOL. Do not waste your time or your child's time. Unprofessional Faculty's School. Either too flexible in their "unique" curriculum, or inappropriately strict in other areas. Our whole experience was unpleasant from the beginning until the end which could not have come sooner.

Professional Children's School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and faculty do not demonstrate these qualities, so how can they expect to teach their students the same values. I had an absolutely horrible experience with this joke of a school, and would never wish the same on another parent sending their child there. The Unprofessional Adults School.


Professional Children's School 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
The BEST school for young adults who are involved in outside professions/activities yet cannot find the time or the flexibility to pursue their talents. They are one of the few schools equipped to coordinate academics around the child's work and/or travel schedule, yet they (thankfully) do expect the student to be on time, keep up with the work, and behave with character. The academics are very strong, taught by teachers who are themselves accomplished and caring. Forget about all the NYC private schools that call themselves "creative" -- this is the real deal, with top musicians, athletes, actors, entrepreneurs, dancers, etc all thriving in a very supportive community. These kids are already achievers in the outside world, so the artistic and academic bar is set very high. Colleges love PCS students, so it's no surprise that many go on to attend the top universities in the country.

Professional Children's School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
One of a kind! Great school and leadership that allowed my daughter, a vocalist, to pursue her professional career and get a good education. The students are fantastic and no nonsense but know how to have fun. The only negative is that the nature of the classes cannot accommodate students with learning disabilities which can be a challenge as the reading and writing assignments are rigorous. Wonderful staff and it was a great experience for our daughter!

Professional Children's School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
It is a uniquely caring institution that affirms the professional and pre-professional interests of young people while providing a rigorous college-preparatory education. Supporting the Arts, Celebrating the Mind.


Professional Children's School
no rating

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
Our experience at the school has been wonderful due to the inspiring leadership of Dr. James Dawson. Every school should have a headmaster just like him. He is always available with his door open to listen to the kids and their problems.

Professional Children's School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
It is a uniquely wonderful school. There is no other school like it.

Professional Children's School
no rating

Posted July 12, 2005
- a student
This school allows students to tailor their classes around their jobs and outside activites. This is great for students who are dancers, athletes, or actors. This country needs more schools like this.


Professional Children's School 5

Posted April 17, 2005
- a parent
I have heard great things of this school. It encourages academic success as well as the arts. My daughter is studying to become an actress and we need a school that understands what she is going through and wants to be supportive. We know with this school that if her career picks up and she needs to leave school for a little while, PCS will cooperate and set up a plan to make sure she gets all of her schoolwork finished.

Professional Children's School 2

Posted November 10, 2004
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school is not what they bill it as. They claim to be very supportive and nurturing of their professional students and we encountered just the opposite. They were constantly fighting us about schedules and lateness (five minutes!). They do not have a code of conduct that they adhere to and in fact we had to pull our child due to a non-professional child who bullied the entire lower grades. The curriculum is not up to snuff in relation to other independent schools and the teachers have a hard time finding creative ways of teaching and depend solely on the textbooks. Very disappointing!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Professional Children's School
132 West 60th Street, New York, NY  10023
(212) 582-3116
Last modified Professional Children's School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Professional Children's School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top