Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

7-12|Private
47 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Robert Louis Stevenson School 2

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
Clueless school. Ok if you're very rich or very poor (only then will they cut you some slack). TERRIBLE facilities, not worth a tenth of the tuition. Class syllabi are ancient, teachers are tired.

Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
One of the great schools in NYC. The curriculum is founded on understanding rather than achievement in standardized testing. This is a school for gifted/bright kids who can't tolerate what is now called learning in the public schools. It is small, intense, challenging, and about as close to college as you can get. The emphasis is on the person and learning rather than grades. Great fun lively and enriching environment housed in a brownstone!


Robert Louis Stevenson School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
Absolutely terrible school. They claim to be "therapeutic" and yet caused me more damage while I was there than I had arrived with. I'm now a Sophomore at NYU and completely happy with my life, but it took me years of therapy to deal with the abuse that I endured while I attended RLS. Do not send your children here.

Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a community member
Amazing school, I'm a new student, and I absolutely love being here. It's the only school that has ever worked for me.

Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
Stevenson saved my son. He had a great connection with the Dean when he first got there. So much so that he said, "for the first time, someone really understands how I feel". He didn't dread going to school any longer. He felt really comfortable and accepted. This school believed in my son and succeeded in helping him believe in himself. He's in college now and doing well.


Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted June 20, 2012
- a teacher
I've worked at Stevenson for the past 9 years. I love this school! We have very little staff turnover and everyone works together well. Everyone who works here truly believes in Stevenson's mission and works here because they want to make a difference. We are supported by a Learning Specialist, Educational Coordinator, therapist, and the Clinical Director. We are encouraged to differentiate instruction for students who need it. I always feel supported when I want to try new things. I've never worked in such a strong, supportive environment. A happy staff definitely makes for a better environment for students. I would send my own children here if they were in need of additional support and a small classroom experience.

Robert Louis Stevenson School 2

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the review posted on July 19, 2011. It's a therapeutic school that my child needed therapy because of attending!!!!

Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
This is a very unique school. Students get in depth personal interaction with teachers and staff since the school is very small and the ratio of teachers to students is low. The staff is supportive and makes a big effort towards the growth and progress of each student, both academically and emotionally. Students come from around the city and area so there is a varied student body. Each student is valued, and their own unique talents developed and encouraged. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a progressive and one of a kind school. My son has done well and flourished there, as with many of the students, his self esteem has improved dramatically.


Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
My son came to Robert Louis Stevenson School after spending his 9th and 10th years of High School doing virtually nothing. His attendance record was terrible and his academic achievement worse. He is in his second year at Stevenson and has made great strides. He has learned how to be a student again through the program at Stevenson. The amount of oversight and guidance provided by the excellent Advisory program and the small class size has been instrumental in my son's progress. We were at the end of our rope and my son was quickly running out of options. Now my son is actually thinking about his future and our whole family is benefiting from his enrollment at Stevenson.

Robert Louis Stevenson School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a community member
For the right child, this high school definitely deserves a look. My sister s son was in a fast track Manhattan private school. Due to a combination of factors, he fell off the track grades getting worse, social problems, and his mood and conduct hit bottom. I m not sure how my sister found it, but this school turned out to be the answer for my nephew. For the first time in years he was not just willing to go to school, he was happy (and for the first time in years, I didn t have to brain-storm with my crying sister about how to handle him). His grades improved and slowly his confidence came back. He is attending college now and I don t know if that would have happened except for Robert Louis Stevenson. If you have a kid who is struggling, you might want to have a look at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Robert Louis Stevenson School
24 W 74th St, New York, NY  10023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (212) 787-6400
Last modified Robert Louis Stevenson School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top