Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
375 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 27, 2015
- a community member
About 80% of the teachers are fantastic. Others need to be doing something else! Part of being a teacher in a private school is helping out your colleagues and pitching in. Several of the teachers cannot be bothered

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 27, 2015
- a community member
Certain teachers have very high standards and values. Other just go along with the party line.


St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 27, 2015
- a community member
As I said in the comment, they lie on certain transcripts, change the teachers' narrative remarks.

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School 3

Posted November 27, 2015
- a community member
They lie on the transcripts to make certain students look better than they really are. A shame, as the students know this. It is the school where "everyone gets an A." Very sad for the kids who really deserve high marks.

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My child has been enrolled for three years. Each year, the teachers' communication with me about his progress has been proactive and helpful. Even during the summer, at the start of camp, they stayed in touch to make sure his transition into camp was going well, to let us know how they were supporting him, and to seek ideas from us about how they could help support him. I am constantly impressed by their above-and-beyond commitment to my child.


St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten. He didn't have homework. The very few projects we had to complete at home (his "person of the week" journal which we did once, and a weekly list of "letter of the week" words) felt appropriate to me.

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
"The Golden Rule" seems to be a huge part of the school's message. Even my kindergartener knows to treat others the way he wants to be treated. I think the religious/spiritual nature of the school supports that, but this attitude is part of the classroom dynamic as well.

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
The faculty and families here are warm and welcoming. While there is plenty of money in the community, it doesn't feel like such an important part of the culture. Parents don't tend to be ostentatious; they seem to want their children to remain innocent and wholesome, and this is supported by the culture created by the faculty. Teachers know their students. The administration works hard to communicate clearly and consistently. As a newbie to the NYC private school world, I have felt welcomed and relieved by the community spirit here.


St Hilda's & St Hugh's School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
This school is an amazing school. It deserves five stars all the way! I am a student and I love it here! Everyone accepts you for who you are. All the teachers are so helpful,smart,and fun! I have been her for 9 years and I've loved every bit of it!

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School 3

Posted February 20, 2015
- a teacher
Head of School's mercurial personality is causing morale problems within the administration and parent body. She runs hot and cold and it's painful--especially for children--to be cast aside due to her extreme mood swings.

Nearby schools

St Hilda's & St Hugh's School
619 West 114th Street, New York, NY  10025
(212) 932-1980
Last modified St Hilda's & St Hugh's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top