Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
As the parent of a girl who has attended Nightingale since kindergarten, I can't really compare it to any other place. Be that as it may, I simply can't imagine many other K-12 institutions in this country that care as much about a girl's whole education, that has equal or superior resources, or that has an administration and faculty as talented and genuinely caring as this place. It has weaknesses, as all schools do; Nightingale's biggest weakness - by far - is athletics, as in the shocking lack of professional coaching. But my daughter has loved the school, through good times and not so good times. And it has made a huge difference in her life to this point and, we expect, in her life ahead.

Nightingale-Bamford School 2

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Dry, dry, dry. Lots of work, yet for all those hours of homework the school is not as advanced as other private schools in the area. My daughter found too many teachers to be uninspiring and, at times, downright unkind. The arts are given short shrift, and there is almost no creativity in the way subjects are taught. If your daughter can handle the weight of such a dreary atmosphere, and if she has no real outside passion (the amount of homework starting at about 5th grade will preclude this anyway), then she may just find a way to thrive.


Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a community member
I LOVE LOVE LOVE NIGHTINGALE!!! The girls are SUPER nice, we're like sisters, and there is so much intergrade bonding almost everyone knows each other. They also have an outstanding staff who helps you really learn the concept and no what you're being taught, they can be tough, but it all helps in the long run. Like one of our teachers say " "The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a flame to be ignited"

Nightingale-Bamford School 1

Posted September 11, 2012
- a community member
Unfortunately Nightingale is only for an elitest group of extremely rich and out of touch people. If you're ready to put your child through a cookie cutter system then choose this school. Be ready to medicate your child at the age of 9 if need be. Prepare yourself for the ruthless control over your child that the administration will absolutely display. Do you really want your daughter to be brought up in an environment of unrealistic social normalities?

Nightingale-Bamford School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Nightingale is a school that allows girls to become independent thinkers and self-assured individuals, and keeps parents involved in all of the school activities. The teachers are excellent, and the students are friendly.


Nightingale-Bamford School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
It educates young women to be independent, informed, caring members of their communities and society. Classes are small, teachers are excellent and get to know students individually to help them develop their strengths and overcome their weaknesses.

Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a student
This school has great academics and wonderful teachers that give you one on one time with them. Every child should be able to go here!

Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a student
This school is amazing and you can't beat the level of education. The girls are so nice- we're like sisters. The teachers really look out for you and care about your needs. Overall, Nightingale is the best school I have ever been to. Top notch!


Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nightingale-Bamford School 5

Posted August 17, 2008
- a student
Nightingale is a great school. I love it so much and I could not imagine going to any other school. The friends I have made there will last a lifetime and the skills I have learned will help throughout life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nightingale-Bamford School
20 East 92nd Street, New York, NY  10128
(212) 289-5020
Last modified Nightingale-Bamford School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Nightingale-Bamford School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top