Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
K-12
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 528

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Hewitt School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is thriving at Hewitt. She has learned to read in a few short months of kindergarten. She has enjoyed all of the MANY field trips kindergartners go on (10 + in a year), the incredible arts/music program (the chorus sang with Paul McCartney on SNL!), the afterschool program that offers programs from chess to viola to swimming to yoga. Teachers are nurturing while creating a very rich learning environment. The school offers significant project based learning with an emphasis on each individual girl's interests while addressing each diverse learner and child with great care. All this is great, but, most importantly, girls are happy at Hewitt and thriving. My daughter loves being here and we could not be happier. The school has just purchased an additional brownstone and is building out, and, with Joan Lonergan at its head, it is an incredible, exciting time to be at Hewitt. I am looking forward to seeing my own daughter's progress and am so happy that she is attending this wonderful, rigorous, caring school. Staff are warm, understand the latest technology....couldn't say enough great things!

The Hewitt School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
A warm, nurturing school that celebrates each student's individual strengths while teaching a solid, core curriculum in a phenomenal manner. Both of my girls LOVE Hewitt and are thriving.


The Hewitt School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
An excellent school. Each child is celebrated. It is competitive, but not to the point of creating rivalries.

The Hewitt School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Hewitt is a great school in many ways. Due to its size, the classes are very small which allows the students to get more attention from the teacher. The courses are very challenging and the teachers are excellent. The girls can chose to do many extracurricular activities, which vary from drama productions to sports.

The Hewitt School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
This is the most amazing school in the world. My daughter has strived here. I strongly recommend it.


The Hewitt School 5

Posted July 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Hewitt School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
hewitt is a great school. it has an amazing environment. it may not be known as the best school on the block, but anybody looking for a safe and fun time for your daughter should consider this school. peoplep often ask me if there is any religious bias..not at all. hewitt has many fun events but also focuses on acadmical achievement. friends for life are made her. i am on my 7th year and am excited to finish my education on my 9th year at this school. it has so far taught me so much. not just academically but morally too, and i am looking foward to learn more.

The Hewitt School 1

Posted February 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


The Hewitt School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
There is not a day that my daughter doesn't say how much she loves Hewitt. She's in 4th Grade and has embraced her school work like I've never expected. She deligent, hard working, and happy. What more could you want?

The Hewitt School 5

Posted March 11, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Hewitt School
45 West 95th Street, New York, NY  10025
(212) 994-2621
Last modified The Hewitt School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Hewitt School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top