Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
K-12
Private
New York, NY

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brearley School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
Excellent school both academically and as an environment to develop independant thinking. Has kept up with the times. Over the years has retained its status as one of the most academically sound of the private schools.

Brearley School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
Graduate - 13 year journey k-12 - great school - strong emphasis on academics. Has evolved well with the times. Used as a benchmark for all post-Brearley academic adventures, few have compared well.


Brearley School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a community member
I am an alumnus of Brearley, having started in kindergarten and remained through twelfth grade. Brearley has been and remains the best girls school in the US. It has withstood the test of time and has adapted with the passage of time but always retaining its laser focus on academic excellence.

Brearley School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brearley School 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2009
- a student
The Brearley School has opened so many doors for me, it has helped me find my true passion. It has an excellent music department aswell as rigorous academics, there are also many extra-curricular activities including all levels of sports and clubs. I highly recommend this school...


Brearley School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Brearley School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
I've been a student at The Brearley School for 11 years now, and have loved every minute of it. From lower school right through high school, I have experienced the vast intelligence of the teachers and their intense attention and it truly provides a great environment. Not only are the academics supreme, but a fantastic Visual Arts program is offered, as well as Music, Chorus and Theatre through out Lower, Middle and Upper school. The extracurriculars are all a student could wish for from their school: a fantastic Drama and Technical Theatre program, an impressive Debate team, a sculpture class, wonderful orchestra and vocal ensembles, and of course, a highly competitive sports program. Overall, Brearley is the ideal school whether you are looking to start your daughter in kindergarten, or highschool.

Brearley School 5

Posted February 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Brearley School 5

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brearley School 4

Posted January 11, 2008
- a parent
Academically speaking, Brearley is outstanding. I have one daughter at Brearley and one at Nightingale-Bamford, and Brearley is much more academically prestigious. The set backs at this school is the lack of a strong art department and lack of a competetive athletics program. Brearley is primarily just for academics so if your child want's to be an artist or athlete, I suggest another girls' school. The best fact about Brearley is that it has the highest matriculation to Ivy Leagues then any other school in the nation. Overall, 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brearley School
610 East 83rd Street, New York, NY  10028
(212) 570-8516
Last modified Brearley School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Brearley School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top