Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
K-12
Private
New York, NY

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Spence School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
The Spence volleyball team just had a perfect, 23-0 season. Just sayin' As parents, we love everything about the school, especially the head, Bodie Brizendine.

The Spence School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a community member
I love Spence. A) The teachers are all experts in their fields, most have doctorates, and have graduated from some of the best schools in the country (Ex. yale, harvard) B) They all really love what they do. They are all so excited and ecstatic to teach. They walk into the classroom joyously and cause their students to become enthusiastic about the subject and eager to learn. C) They really care about their students. If a student isn't doing so well in the class, the teacher will invite them to meet with him/her and discuss why she is having trouble in this subject and then try to fix it. If needed, a student and teacher might meet during lunch once or twice a week so that the teacher makes sure that the student understand the material fully. If a student is having trouble understanding some of the concepts of the subject (Ex. essays, or a math concept), the teacher will encourage them to meet with him/her and will help them. D) the facilities are amazing now that they have been renovated. E)The homework load is a bit much but it's not unmanageable. It teaches time management and prepares the student for higher learning. If you are a prospective student, I would recommend Spence


The Spence School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a community member
"Not for school, but for life we learn"... Spence is a wonderful school, with tremendous academics, top notch facilities, and outstanding teachers. The Spence community is tight knit, graduates remain involved, and the teachers remember the girls years after they have moved on. I have many fond memories of my years at Spence, I enjoy being an active alumnae, and I hope that my daughter will be a Spence girl in the future.

The Spence School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are passionate about what they do and it shows with the excellent academic record of the school!!!

The Spence School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2010
- a community member
I think what is great about this school is the staff who is so embracing and helpful. I am a potential parent who had some concerns and the individual I spoke to allay my fears and instructed me what to do. This school ranks high on my list


The Spence School 1

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Spence School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
Great academics, teachers, parent body and nurturing environment for the children!!!

The Spence School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
A wonderful school where the girls love to learn.


The Spence School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
I love Spence because the teachers are so warm and welcoming. They really want you to do well and encourage you to ask any and all questions and meet with them.

The Spence School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Spence School
22 East 91st Street, New York, NY  10128
(212) 289-5940
Last modified The Spence School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Spence School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top