Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-5
Private
New York, NY
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Hello, I am the new Head of School at Corlears, David Egolf. The past few months have been such a pleasure for me, getting to know this terrific community! We are a school for children ages 2 through 10 and we are located in one of the most dynamic, exciting neighborhoods in New York City, Chelsea. Corlears is filled with energy and the sounds of joyful students who are engaged and curious about the community they live in and the world around them. They are compassionate and creative, eager to take on new challenges and to pursue new paths to finding solutions. Our students love Corlears and love to learn. Here are the reasons why: *Our academic program develops innovative thinking, collaboration, and communication skills. *Kindness, respect, and integrity are prized in every interaction at Corlears. *Small size... every child is important at Corlears. *A focus on the early years to fifth grade... setting students up for success in middle school and beyond. Graduates from Corlears are capable, compassionate innovators who move on to one of their first choice schools for middle school. They are ready, eager, and confident they will meet the challenges ahead with success. From their journey here, they have learned about themselves and have important insights into the schools that feel right for them. Please explore our website and discover the richness of our program. Come see Corlears and feel the excitement and energy that our children feel every day. Take a tour; meet our faculty; see for yourself our light-filled, spacious classrooms. I promise you will wish that you had gone to Corlears when you were a child. I look forward to meeting you soon. Sincerely, David Egolf, Head of School
September 21, 2014

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corlears School 1

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
This school does remedial education well. Children with learning, social and emotional challenges are well suited to this school. Children on the other end of these spectrums are not well served at Corlears. There is a lack of expertise within the faculty to cater to above-average learners, with very few enhanced and/or accelerated learning opportunities. The faculty is also so small that teacher absences are not adequately covered. The small class sizes do lend themselves to warm, nurturing experiences, but I would agree that it really depends on your luck with the teacher. The art program is very good, perhaps due to the consecutive heads of school being former art teachers. For all it small size, I have not found the greater school community to be very welcoming or cohesive. There appears to be a vast gap between board member parents and the 'ordinary' parents in terms of levels of satisfaction with the school which seems to be apparent from the reviews.
20 people found this helpful

Corlears School 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a parent
We love Corlears. It is a warm, creative environment that manages to combine both excellent academics with a supportive, team-based approach. I am saying this as someone who attended a top private school in New York City and attended an Ivy League college. Our daughter is in pre-k and already she is reading and doing addition and understands subtraction. The teachers are conscientious and able to differentiate between students' abilities, pushing those who are ready to learn more, while giving extra support to others. In a city like New York, Corlears provides our family with a wonderful community of families and we could not be more satisfied.
2 people found this helpful


Corlears School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Corlears is exceeding our expectations. Our child is both learning and loving school. The teachers are supportive, keep in regular contact, and give regular tips on how to continue the learning process at home. We are so glad that we found the perfect school for our child.
4 people found this helpful

Corlears School 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
This school is mediocre at best. The new head of school has implemented some good changes, but unfortunately the changes have been largely cosmetic. In short, the more meaningful issues with the school, namely, curriculum and quality of faculty remain sub-standard. There is no genuine commitment from administration to recruit the best teachers or to improve the curriculum to deliver more robust and enriching experiences for all learners. The mixed-age classes (which span 24 months) absolutely require teachers with sound ability to differentiate between the different levels and capacities within any given class. Unfortunately, there are precious few teachers at this school who can actually do that.
21 people found this helpful

Corlears School 2

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
There are a few happy families at the school... the ones who give big donations, and receive special attention from the administration. These are the parents coming on here with good reviews to try and counteract the truth, which is not all roses and unicorns. If you are looking into sending your child to Corlears, please take the negative reviews seriously, and show up to tours with questions about attrition, curriculum, etc. Good luck!
13 people found this helpful


Corlears School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
My son will be starting his third year at Corlears (he is almost 5 years old). We have had a great experience at Corlears, and we are excited for the upcoming year. The teachers provide a nurturing environment and challenge our son in ways that engage his curiosity and encourage him to try new things. The staff and administration are very supportive, and we have enjoyed being a part of the Corlears community. We could not be happier at Corlears!
2 people found this helpful

Corlears School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
We feel lucky to have found Corlears. It is a very special place. Our 3 children (2 boys and a girl) have all thrived there, and the two who have graduated were well prepared and moved with confidence to their new schools. Corlears has a real commitment to its progressive philosophy. For example, children help shape the various studies each year and, as a result, feel a deep connection to and sense of ownership of their learning, and real partnership with their teachers. When one of my children faced academic challenges, the teachers and specialists jumped on the problem right away, kept us involved as they developed a plan, and then worked with our child to help him move through his difficulties and continue as a successful learner. I credit their loving and skilled guidance with my son's continued love of school in the face of obstacles. In addition, Corlears is a small nurturing environment, where multi-age experiences deepen learning, build confidence, and foster empathy. It s a place that values kindness and keeps children younger longer.
4 people found this helpful

Corlears School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
My two children attended Corlears from their first year in pre-school through to graduation. Though the kids are different (one boy, one girl, different learning styles and interests), they both had great experiences there. Teacher quality was, in general, extremely strong, and the occasional issue was always dealt with professionally. The philosophical underpinnings of the school (e.g., primacy of the child, meeting kids and families where THEY are, focus on inquiry-based learning) are deeply rooted, which creates a coherent curriculum and an early education that has genuine integrity. We came to appreciate these qualities even more when we watched how our kids thrived in middle school. I have also heard very favorable things about the new Head, so I expect what was already great will become even better.
3 people found this helpful


Corlears School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
We HATED this school. While it's fine for preschool-aged kids, my kid ultimately learned nothing and was stuck in a class size that got smaller and smaller as all of the other kids left. Save yourself a headache and don't enroll.
3 people found this helpful

Corlears School 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
There are some fine teachers at this school. But, unfortunately, it's luck of the draw. Sadly, there is an absence of strong, active leadership here to bring some parity across the quality of the faculty. Some staff members have been here too long, they simply lack the perspective and enthusiasm to respond to matters that need attention. The academic curriculum too has some major gaps, especially mathematics. From about age 5 & 6, most parents supplement math out-of-school to ensure their kids keep up with the state curriculum. This school could be great, but needs someone at the helm who can implement the necessary changes to make it happen.
12 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corlears School
324 West 15th Street, New York, NY  10011
(212) 741-2800
Last modified Corlears School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Corlears School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top