Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

6-12|Private
360 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


York Prep School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
We've been at this school for 3 years and so far our experience has been great. Our son is doing great in class, sports and has great friends. They don't teach the CORE, which is one of my favorite things about the place. There are days that are hard for my son but it's school and not everything is easy, I'm fine with that.

York Prep School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
There is a strong mentoring system with teachers, elders and an on site counselor assissiting children in the day to day struggles and issues.


York Prep School 5

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and administration were consistently accessible to our son and my husband and I. Edline was an invaluable tool for the parents to be informed of our son's strengths and weaknesses. York Prep made an enormous personal investment in supporting our son academically.

York Prep School 2

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has strengths and weaknesses, like all schools. Its strengths are that it can accommodate all kinds of learners and has a good program for both gifted kids and learning disabled kids. Its weakness is that it's a for profit school, and is ultimately a business. The principal owns the school and answers to no-one so some feel it's a bit of a monarchy-slash-dictatorship rather than, you know, a nice village where people come together to educate kids. This can also be problematic given that his first career (many years ago) was in the law, rather than education. There's nothing wrong with that per se, except that lawyers just think differently than educators, and given the choice, many parents would not necessarily entrust their kids to the care of a lawyer. Having said all that, there are some good teachers, especially in history and math.

York Prep School 3

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
The school is a good high school for students grades 6-12 who want a really good learning experience with great teachers and convient within New York City. I enjoyed the learning experience that I got there and enjoyed the teachers and made new friends when I was there. The school can improve on its curriculum and creating less of a bullying/teasing atmosphere while building on its strong base of giving struggling and challenging students a great education and tools to help them in the future as they go to college.


York Prep School 3

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
PROS: Teachers are generally warm and attentive to every student. Very organized; even formerly 'struggling' students get basic skills and a sense of how to approach every task. Lovely people in admin. CONS: Slightly formulaic, not-very-creative curriculum at times, but that's OK. Socially challenging, with cliquey rich kids, some kids who don't care that much about learning, and too much teasing & teenage who's-in-who's-out drama (difficult to handle when your whole class is only 12 kids).

York Prep School 4

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
I actually found the admissions staff to be one of the kindest of all NYC private schools. They called back in a timely manner, showed compassion, enthusiasm in a professional manner. These schools are hard to gain acceptance to, but if your child did not get in,it stings, but you must believe this was then not the school for them.

York Prep School 1

Posted March 17, 2011
- a parent
A most unprofessional staff in admissions. if this is an indication of the quality and care of the school staff, I would defintiely not recommend this school.


York Prep School 4

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
York Prep is an amazing school. i am a former student and the teachers are dedicated to the students. I definitely felt welcomed by everyone. If you like a warm , friendly, and challenging environment, this is the school for you.

York Prep School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a student
The following is a modified version of the thank you letter I sent to Mrs. Stewart, the Director of College Guidance at York, after I was accepted to the Wharton School. Truly an excellent job on their part: Dear Mrs. Stewart, I know very few people that have as much passion, commitment, and feeling for their job, as you. Thank you for all of the time you put in to help me get accepted to the college of my dreams. It wouldn't have been possible without you and the rest of the supportive staff at York. You answered my emails within minutes, returned my essays with insightful annotations right-away, and truly made me feel comfortable with whatever I needed at any point along the process. Going to Wharton is beyond a dream come true. I am so glad to represent York, and hope to start a trend, establishing a York legacy at Penn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

York Prep School
40 West 68th Street, New York, NY  10023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (212) 362-0400
Last modified York Prep School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top