Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
607 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a community member
Rodeph Sholom School is a nurturing, inclusive N-8 environment with top notch academics. RSS students go on to become leaders at the high schools they attend, and most importantly, RSS raises good kids who have a strong moral compass and sense of self. It is a truly remarkable community.

Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a community member
Rodeph Sholom School is a wonderful school, both academically and community wise. Not only is there an intelectual academic program, but the nurturing and experiential environment has allowed me to succeed in all 12 years I have been here.


Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Rodeph Sholom School is a truly special place. I was a parent at the school for 12 years until my last child graduated. It was an incredible experience, and my children will always be Rodeph Sholom students at heart. It's way more than a school, it's a home and a community that you can always run to. The teachers teach not only academics like at other schools, but life lessons, and how to be a good human being. I'm sad to say my children are disappointed with their new schools in comparison to Rodeph Sholom because of how amazing it was. I recommend it to any parent looking for a truly fantastic school.

Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a student
rss is the best place ever!!!!! i have been going here for 10 yrs and i dont want to leave!! it is my second home...

Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted October 25, 2006
- a parent
My child started Kindergarten at Rodeph Sholom about seven weeks ago. I was very skeptical about sending him to a private religion-affiliated school beforehand, but we are impressed and delighted. The teachers are smart, dynamic, engaged and thoughtful. The facilities are clean, bright and new. So far, so good.


Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
This is an exceptional, unique reform jewish day school, delivering a top quality education in both academic and religious subjects. The children are actively engaged in learning, and involved in religious studies, at very high levels. The school is part of a warm religious community but the focus is on a balanced spiritual and educational life. Teaching is affirmative and supportive, and individual strengths and weaknesses are encouraged and addressed respectively. The administrative and teaching staff go out of their way to ensure a safe and secure educational environment. For parents looking for a sound academic base plus religious school, this is a wonderful and unique option.

Rodeph Sholom School 1

Posted November 24, 2005
- a parent
I was extremly dissapointed with the Rodeph Sholom School. My children often told me that the school was dirty, the teachers were mean/unhelpful and the school didn't seem to care. I can't believe i paid over 20,000 dollars a year for this! Parents: Do not send your kids to this school! Try somewhere else!

Rodeph Sholom School 1

Posted November 24, 2005
- a student
I went to this school for over 10 years. Everything was fine until the school decided to create a Middle School. The elementary school was great, the middle school was not. The middle school teachers were not helpful, mean, and simply not friendly. When high school applications came, the school didn't do much to help kids get into the school they wanted. Many of my classmates (including me) were dissapointed. Overall i would not reccommend this school, try somewhere else.


Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted April 25, 2005
- a parent
My experience at RSS has been wonderful. My 4 year old went through the Mommy & Me, 2s and 3s program. In all three years she has had caring, nuturing and thought provoking teachers. The PTA is very strong and supportive. All the families that I have gotten to know have a high standard for their children's education and place morals and values as a top priority. This is the perfect place for the family who wants a great overall education with a focus in Jewish studies.

Rodeph Sholom School 5

Posted January 05, 2005
- a parent
Both my childrenn go to RS, and they love it. the facilities are new and well maintained. The teacher/student ratio is very good, and the attention each child receives is excellent. I am always aware of what's going on with my children, and the staff is very receptive to any comments or questions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rodeph Sholom School
10 West 84th Street, New York, NY  10024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (646) 438-8500
Last modified Rodeph Sholom School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top