Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

K-12|Private
1,300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dalton School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
My daughter joined Dalton in Kindergarten and will be in 2nd grade this fall. The progressive approach which entails learning by doing projects and the interdisciplinary approach have been some of the unique features of learning in the first 2 years. My daughter LOVES school. We have seen her grow and thrive In the last 2 years.

Dalton School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
I am the parent of two children who attended The Dalton School from K though 12. Each of my kids received an excellent education. Although they were forced to work very hard, there were numerous important benefits. They learned to think, write, speak in public, work in teams and on their own and to be good citizens, all within a nurturing environment. They made terrific - sure to be - lifelong friends. They were incredibly well prepared for college.


Dalton School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
I am the parent of an alum. Now that he has also completed college (yes, at a top Ivy League school), I can reflect with fondness on this unique institution of higher education. Dalton in a word is GREAT. From the day my son was admitted, to the last day of classes, it was a dream trip come true. He was challenged, nourished, complimented and made to feel that he had a home away from home. Dalton is an opportunity, a gift that keeps on giving throughout a lifetime. What more could a parent ask for?

Dalton School 5

Posted August 25, 2012
- a community member
I was accepted into the Dalton School, and am starting my Dalton education this September. But, once I entered that school to think bout applying, I knew this school was just right for me. Their academics seem to be rigorous, and I feel that there is a big sense of community, much like there was at the program through which I am entering Dalton, Prep For Prep. After getting accepted into Dalton, I spent a day there, and the students are really curious, and they were really friendly and kind to me. I was surprised because this had not happened during my 1st day at the public school I attended. The teachers were amazing, and they were very willing and happy to answer a question a student had. Everyone is extremely nice. I am really looking forward to attending Dalton in the fall!!! -Marco Paz-Solano

Dalton School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from this school and I loved it. I am very smart.The teachers are awesome.I would recomend this school to everyone in New York.


Dalton School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a community member
I started at Dalton in kindergarten and just graduated a few weeks ago, and I can honestly say that it was an amazing experience. The faculty (well, most of them) are brilliant, engaging, and insightful, and are always willing to help you or challgenge you when you need it. The school is undoubtedly slanted toward the humanities (History and English are definitely the best departments in the high school), but no matter what your interests and abilities are, if you pick the right classes you will be challenged and you will learn A LOT. In high school you can make your schedule as heavy or as light as you want (within certain boundaries, of course), depending on how many extracurriculars you do and how much down time you want, and in this respect Dalton is great at letting each student direct the course of his/her education.

Dalton School 5

Posted December 24, 2009
- a student
I go to dalton and i couldn't be happier. It is balanced so well!!!

Dalton School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a community member
The Dalton School is wonderful because it teaches you alot, and the work is not too hard. Ruth Simon


Dalton School 5

Posted July 13, 2009
- a student
Excellent school due to the amazing faculty, who are always more than ready to help. If you want to do something, you can get it done here. If a student wants to do nothing... well, he/she can do that too.

Dalton School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a student
Dalton is amazing! I've been attending this school since kindergarten, and leaving has never crossed my mind. Every type of student is accepted here, from the Model UN boy, to the actress, to the computer science lover. I've never felt uncomfortable around my teachers or the administration, and both are always extremely friendly and great! besides all this, the academics are superb. Though at times the work load can become stressful, your teachers are always there to support you. There is no better learning atmosphere or school in the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dalton School
108 East 89th Street, New York, NY  10128
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (212) 423-5200
Last modified Dalton School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top