Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
9-12
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 331

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Jean Baptiste High School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
This review is in response to the review dated on 8/2/12 - SJB has plenty of extra curricular activities/clubs to join. This school is a perfect school for girls to mold them into responsible, ambitious young women. I do not regret enrolling my child in this school. It is by far a school for slackers. It is challenging, a great school for school for gifted students and located in the UES (E. 77th St) - a safe area in my standards for my child.

St. Jean Baptiste High School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
There was a parent's comment on the school lack of academic rigor. All NYC schools must follow NYS curriculum regardless if it is private. There are advanced classes just as a regular public school would have. If your child is up to speed they can be in those classes. It is a great learning environment. I am definitely not regretting sending my daughter to this school.


St. Jean Baptiste High School 1

Posted August 02, 2012
- a parent
The school's academics offered here is just too easy. Almost all the students here get all 90's and etc. If you are gifted and smart, please do not waste your time here, there are so many other schools, including public schools like NY LAB or Beacon HS that offer way better programs then this school. No diversity, all students are either African American or Latino. A good school needs to be challenging, diverse, and a safe environment. There are no connections at this school with universities and hospitals in the area. No Orchestra and few extra curriculum other than Step, and etc. I would only consider this school if you are a average student or have potential to become a good student to come here and become successful, but for smart and gifted students, don't bother applying. The curriculum is so easy. For students who want diversity, this isn't the school you want to go to. I have a sister who attended the University Program offered by the school for the incoming students and barely 3/4 of the students knew how to divide fractions or know their basic skills in order to succeed. Bad school for Gifted Students. Great school for averaged students who have potential.

St. Jean Baptiste High School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
An excellent school for any student who is focused in a career in the science fields. The administrators of this school are very hard working and the clubs, activities, and external internships available are a wonderful component to the school

St. Jean Baptiste High School 4

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
The teachers and staff at St. Jean's are very caring and work to bring the best out of their students. I would recommend St. Jean's to young women who want the best education and not worry about the environment around them.


St. Jean Baptiste High School 4

Posted November 09, 2008
- a student
The school is good and it is becoming even better for its future students.The school will be undergoing new rennovations.The new teachers and principal are great aswell.The system is being 'tightened up'.

St. Jean Baptiste High School 5

Posted February 03, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Jean Baptiste High School 2

Posted October 01, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.


St. Jean Baptiste High School 4

Posted March 22, 2006
- a former student
Excellent school for drama and history.

St. Jean Baptiste High School 2

Posted February 20, 2006
- a administrator
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Jean Baptiste High School
173 E 75th St, New York, NY  10021
(212) 288-1645
Last modified St. Jean Baptiste High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St. Jean Baptiste High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top