Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

K-12|Private
340 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Child School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
The teacher and principal work with the parents very close. They try to be on the same page.

The Child School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
My daughters teacher teach the class material so fun in a way my daughter understand and now she wants to be a teacher just like him.


The Child School 4

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
The school is excellent for addressing learning disabilities, social, and behavioral issues. They made a huge difference for my son when he started there in the middle of elementary school. The down side is the school is not academically challenging AT ALL. In middle school, my son comes home with 20 minutes of homework every night, if any at all. 3 months into the school year, most of his time is being spent reviewing things they already learned last year. Though I am forever grateful to the school for helping him get through a very difficult period in which public school would not work, I wish there was a better balance of special needs focus and academic challenge with more differential learning. Sadly, we will be moving on soon to a place where my son can now focus on the education he needs.

The Child School 3

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended this school for a few years now. Some classes/buildings are overcrowded, but this doesn't effect the quality of the Teachers ability to provide the best possible service that they can anywhere they can. In short that means that the staff can be very creative and pliable when it needs to be. The school is working to better itself and it's teachers in order to give the children who attend the school the best education possible. With time I'd like to add a star. Right now they are doing an average job.

The Child School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful school for smart kids with support from dedicated teachers and therapists. The school provides a strong academic environment with support for learning disabilities. An outstanding designated private special education school for elementary, middle, and high school students. We are very glad we came here.


The Child School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son struggled through public elementary school with a speech and processing disorder, as well as ADHD and some spectrum traits/behaviors. the Public school atmosphere broke his spirit. He started The Child School in the summer before 6th grade and became a new person. He started to LOVE school, his teachers, his peers, and everyone noticed a change. He no longer acts out in class but is a well behaved, polite, respectful boy who is happy to go to school and learn. The Child School brought my son back to me!

The Child School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff are committed to making sure every child is given the time and dedication to accommodate their needs, This is a school that welcomes children with learning disabilities and helps them excel in all areas of life. It is truly a lifesaver for not only the children but the families as well. These children will succeed in this school and most graduate with Regents diplomas. They go on to College and become confident, young adults. This school is very much deserving and really could use these funds to purchase equipment for occupational therapy and other much needed services.

The Child School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at this school since 2004 and he has grown academically and emotionally more than I ever dreamed possible. The classes are small; the teachers are highly skilled both in their subjects and in working with emotionally fragile kids with various learning styles. The location on Roosevelt Island abutting the East River is absolutely beautiful. A gem of a school


The Child School 4

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
I'm a parent of a child who currently attends the school. He has been here for 4 years, my child has a severe learning disability, adhd and was not expected to learn to read or write. He had such a rough time in public schools because they did not take the time to address his individual needs. Within his first year my son began to read and write. He is now a confident young man who thanks to all the class selections has had great educational opportunities and social extra curriculars. I'm am proud to say we are a TCS/Legacy family. I recommend the school. No school is perfect but TCS works very hard to meet each child's individual needs. Cant wait till he goes to Legacy in a years time!

The Child School 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended The Child School for three years and made a great deal of progress. The curriculum was individualized to meet her specific strengths and deficits. She got 1:1 assistance in the areas where she needed it and got the spotlight on her strengths ranging from the annual science fair to the dance shows. The teachers and therapists are very involved, very accessible and willing to work with parents. She flourished socially and emotionally in the elementary school's therapeutic environment and made her first friends here. The PTA is very involved and sponsors many events for parents, students and alumni.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Child School
587 Main Street, New York, NY  10044
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (212) 223-5055
Last modified The Child School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top