Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Spyridon Parochial School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
St. Spyridon teaches their students to be respectful and honest young ladies and gentlemen. The students get along with their peers and respect and listen to their teachers and administrators.

St Spyridon Parochial School 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
St. Spyridon is a warm, loving and safe atmosphere for children to be learning in. The teachers are very dedicated, educated, hard workers and truly care about their students. The new Principall, Ms. Panos, is a very caring and loving individual , whose knowledge and experience in school building leadership is refreshing and what this school has been lacking in many years. I am a very happy and proud parent of the school and see academic results in my child.My child is happy to come to school. I would recommend this school to everyone who is lookiing for a small, safe, caring parochial schoil setting with small class sizes and individualized instruction in a classroom setting.


St Spyridon Parochial School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank the teachers of St. Spyridon for their continued hardwork and dedication.

St Spyridon Parochial School 4

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
Both my children have attended St. Spyridon since Pre-K. My son graduated this past June top of his class. The school is a small community of very caring teachers and administrators. It is true that in the past the school was plagued with poor management and high teacher turnover, specifically in the lower grades. Thankfully, this year has brought a new principal who is turning the school around and the changes have been positive. For those parents who feel the school is not teaching their children at the same standards as other schools, my son is proof positive that this is not true. He received a stellar education at St. Spyridon and it has been confirmed by many of his high school teachers who praise his ability to write wonderful essays with proper language and sentence structure in the ninth grade! Fighting and bullying is not tolerated in this school. The new administration is very quick to handle any incidents of poor behavior. There is a sense of community among the students which I rarely see in other schools. Overall, I think the school is a good school. There are still areas for improvement, but good things are happening there. Any concerns I may have as a parent are handled promptly. The teachers as well as the new administration are professional, educated, kind and really care for the kids. This is more than you get in some of the public schools in this particular area of Manhattan!

St Spyridon Parochial School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
My nieces and nephew attend this school and this is the BEST school they've been to; hands down better than any public school out there. Why? Smaller class sizes mean more attention to individual needs. Attending graduation made me all warm and fuzzy because I love watching dedication, passion and talent play itself out in front of families. What's really important about any school is to make your OWN decision. I know from experience that public schools with A ratings don't have A plus material (bullying, overcrowding, lack of music and art is not an A school, DOE). It's so clear this small school has a dedicated staff with TIME to care. They have graduates who are heading to Brooklyn Tech, one of the best schools in Brooklyn, when public schools produce students who head to Lincoln--NOT one of the best! Take negative reviews with a grain of salt. This is a hidden gem on Wadsworth Street that really deserves to be revealed! And please don't get me started on the teachers! So dedicated and professional! Well done, St. Spryidon!


St Spyridon Parochial School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
great little school just like the reviewer say. very nice people speak spanish, greek and another lanauhge. very good. My sons going to love this small schhool. i saw some of the teachers they smiled at me and they did not know me. they help me find my way to registr

St Spyridon Parochial School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
I ask everyone that visits this site to also visit the school. The negative reviews are unfair at best and over all down right lies. As a parent who's child graduated this year I must say Saint Spyridon has been the best for my daughter. She thrived there and cried buckets of tears knowing this would be the last year with her strong, loving and talented teachers. I am often shocked by the negative and hateful reviews by fellow parents who walk around claiming they know more than these dedicated and hard working teachers who work so hard for our children's educational, spiritual and personal well being. All it takes is one disgruntle parent or teacher(yes teacher) to cast a shadow of doubt on the miracles that happen at our fine school. Please do not believe the haters. Come feel the love for yourself.

St Spyridon Parochial School 2

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
this school is a poorly-run business, teachers are unsupervised. nobody to hold accountable, poor security.


St Spyridon Parochial School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended St. Spyridon since Pre-K. She has thrived because of the great teachers and small classroom environment. I've never experienced any problems that others have listed. Education is important-and where your child takes their first steps on the path of knowledge equally so.

St Spyridon Parochial School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
This school is extremely disorganized ,they changing teachers almost every year, all they do is pooling money from parents pockets , I have told by the other schools that my son is behind the program, horrible attitude towards there students and there students mothers and fathers , school security is zero, horrible school.

Nearby schools

St Spyridon Parochial School
120 Wadsworth Avenue New York, N.Y. 10033, New York, NY  10033
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (212) 795-6870
Last modified St Spyridon Parochial School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top