Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
In the infamous New York City Kindergarten application process, we were not prepared for many positive surprises. We found one at the Geneva School of Manhattan. In all major respects, the school can be considered top tier. Many may find the initial faith statement and the requirement for active parent involvement a bit intimidating. We also had some skepticism which was quickly diffused by our extremely positive experience. Geneva takes its mission statement seriously. The emphasis on Christian values provides for a structured environment. Our two girls have thrived here. While there is a common understanding that everyone shares a similar faith, no particular denomination prevails. With the requirement for active parent participation, the school demonstrates that education is not just up to the professionals but is very much up to the parents. Excellence in education is therefore really the core strength of the school. Due to its small class sizes and caring environment, students at Geneva do extremely well. The lower tuition also helps attract a very diverse student body, important for our girls to prepare them for a global workforce.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
We have 3 children in the Geneva school. We are so happy with everything the school has to offer. This is our second year at the school and our children have grown so much in many aspects including character, Godliness, and academic excellence. It has the best of both worlds and incorporates a rigorous academic curriculum comparable to Many NYC's top private schools with the added bonus of Instilling kindness, and genuine love !


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
Both my children began at Geneva School in Preschool and are now Fourth and Seventh Grade students. In all their years at the school, they have enjoyed wonderful teachers who took a personal interest in their education. They have made great friends. Most importantly, however, is the instilling of a lifelong love of learning.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
We've re-enrolled our child yet again because we love this school so much. He is thriving in academics, is extremely kind and considerate which we lead by example at home but is also reinforced at school. So many of the children and parents are loving, kind and genuinely connected in this gem of a school. It's a Christian education where people of all levels of faith can find their place. The teachers are fantastic and the school's location is ideal - right in the middle of all that NYC has to offer!

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Geneva. We are more than blessed to have found such an amazing school. The teachers could not be any sweeter, the community interaction is stellar. In terms of academics, the kids excel here. My son reads two grades above his actual grade level. They use the Singapore math method that teaches kids a very different way of dealing with math problems. They start very early on with French and teach Latin from 5th grade on. I would highly recommend this school to anyone that is interested in raising kids in the big city jungle without compromising academics and wonderful person-to-person interaction.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
We are new to New York this year, but not new to classical education -- and were SO thrilled to find a classical school that was genuinely Christian in the middle of the city! My biggest concern moving here from the semi-rural West was that we would not be able to find a "real" Christian school with challenging academics and a professional, innovative, caring staff. Geneva is that and more -- our son is challenged, has grown academically and spiritually, and has just plain had fun at this wonderful school. Neither character nor acadmics are sacrificed at Geneva. Best of all, the community was so welcoming -- within days, we were "plugged in" as a family, with places to go and people to meet. Geneva and it's families are the real deal.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
This is an Amazing school! I have two children at The Geneva School of Manhattan. This school has everything that we were looking for... Competitive and Rigorous academics, daily studies of the Bible and wanted Parent involvement. So many schools do not want hand on parent involvement. This school actually thrives on parent involvement and thoughtfully uses each parents unique talents. I love being a part of my child's learning experience.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Geneva School is a gem in this city! We wanted a Christian school for our children, but not at the cost of academics. We have only chosen Geneva School because it balances solid Bible teaching with a rigorous Academic Curriculum, which shows in the exmissions to excellent high schools in Manhattan! The staff is excellent and highly communicative, the principal is personable and involved, and the parent body is supportive and welcoming. Also, you can't get an education for this price anywhere else in Manhattan! Apllicants should understand that this is an academically challenging, yet warm and nurturing environment. Joyful Rigor can best explain it! While our children work hard, and diligently, they are warm, funny, and happy! Physical Ed is offered more days than at most schools, They have an excellent art teacher--his work should be in The Met! Come see for yourself!


The Geneva School of Manhattan 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended Geneva School for two years, and have really blossomed there. Geneva provides the best of both worlds: a solid, challenging academic education and a warm, nurturing environment. The teachers are loving and encouraging while still challenging the students in their academic and spiritual growth. The parent community is also wonderful, very generous and open. I am always amazed and humbled by the care and respect the students show one another as well as their teachers--real proof, in my mind, that the school excels at teaching and nurturing the whole child. Geneva School is a classical school, which means its curriculum follows the educational system and philosophy of Ancient Greece. In a nutshell, this means students learn in a three-stage process, processing facts and then thinking abstractly before they begin to form their own ideas and conclusions. Classical education is a great preparation for entry into high school.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
love the school to pieces. My 2 boys started last yr and they are really thriving. It is a very academic school with lots of nuturing to balance it. I have never seen such loving teachers and a wonderful group of families too. I was concerned about the religious aspects being too much but, while it is a bible based curiculum,it is not fundamentalist or taught ina way that is anything but,to further teach a child character. It really shows. The group of kids are well disciplined and very kind. We are very happy here.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Geneva School of Manhattan
123 West 57th Street, New York, NY  10019
(212) 754-9988
Last modified The Geneva School of Manhattan is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Geneva School of Manhattan Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top