Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
176 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Incredible curriculum, nurturing teachers, small class size, inventive and fun learning approaches, supportive and engaged parent community. My daughter gets up everyday with joy in her heart ready for school. Coming from public school she knows JUST HOW GOOD Geneva School is. The best part? She actually learns at Geneva and she knows the teachers and staff love her, care about her, and go the extra mile to provide the best educational environment. The specials are so good and not just once a week! GYM meets four times a week! She loves that. The lower school is close to Central Park so lots of recess and lunch opportunities there. Classical education is by far the way to go. If you haven't looked into it, please do. We could not be happier.

The Geneva School of Manhattan
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Character development is critical part of the school's focus for the children. Honesty, integrity, and fairness are part of our Christian faith and its a given that it will be instilled in the children.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
We love the Geneva School. The community and the teachers are great. My son and daughter both attended there, but we left to go into the public school system, for financial reasons (even though it is not as expensive as some of the other private schools in NYC). My son still asks to go back to Geneva. My daughter is starting to read and she is only in Pre-K. The teachers geniunely care about the students. They have an affliated music school and my son has thrived under the instruction of his piano teacher. The combination of having a God-centric approach to teaching and the classical education is invaluable. I really like the structure (which I believe creates an environment that allows kids to flourish) and the weaving of the Gospel in every aspect of the school. The only negative is that it does not have it's own building.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
We love Geneva School! Our three children have really thrived there. They had started at Pre-K in Genenva School, but we had to moved out of NYC for a few years. But they missed Geneva School so much, we finally decided to move back to NYC. The schools that they attended outside of NYC were academically competitive, but they lack the warmth , care and character shaping aspects of Geneva School. In fact, Geneva School is superioly academically rigorous without a lot of "busy" homework. Teachers and administrators care deeply about the children, and the entire school is a close-knit community. In today's education landscape, Geneva is a real gem. It is authentic and does rigorous hardwork daily in developing children's into men an women with not just intellectual skills but more importantly Godly wisdoms that help them to navigate the complex world. We highly recommend this school!ool!

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
In the infamous New York City Kindergarten application process, we were not prepared for many positive surprises. We found one at the Geneva School of Manhattan. In all major respects, the school can be considered top tier. Many may find the initial faith statement and the requirement for active parent involvement a bit intimidating. We also had some skepticism which was quickly diffused by our extremely positive experience. Geneva takes its mission statement seriously. The emphasis on Christian values provides for a structured environment. Our two girls have thrived here. While there is a common understanding that everyone shares a similar faith, no particular denomination prevails. With the requirement for active parent participation, the school demonstrates that education is not just up to the professionals but is very much up to the parents. Excellence in education is therefore really the core strength of the school. Due to its small class sizes and caring environment, students at Geneva do extremely well. The lower tuition also helps attract a very diverse student body, important for our girls to prepare them for a global workforce.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
We have 3 children in the Geneva school. We are so happy with everything the school has to offer. This is our second year at the school and our children have grown so much in many aspects including character, Godliness, and academic excellence. It has the best of both worlds and incorporates a rigorous academic curriculum comparable to Many NYC's top private schools with the added bonus of Instilling kindness, and genuine love !

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
Both my children began at Geneva School in Preschool and are now Fourth and Seventh Grade students. In all their years at the school, they have enjoyed wonderful teachers who took a personal interest in their education. They have made great friends. Most importantly, however, is the instilling of a lifelong love of learning.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
We've re-enrolled our child yet again because we love this school so much. He is thriving in academics, is extremely kind and considerate which we lead by example at home but is also reinforced at school. So many of the children and parents are loving, kind and genuinely connected in this gem of a school. It's a Christian education where people of all levels of faith can find their place. The teachers are fantastic and the school's location is ideal - right in the middle of all that NYC has to offer!


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Geneva. We are more than blessed to have found such an amazing school. The teachers could not be any sweeter, the community interaction is stellar. In terms of academics, the kids excel here. My son reads two grades above his actual grade level. They use the Singapore math method that teaches kids a very different way of dealing with math problems. They start very early on with French and teach Latin from 5th grade on. I would highly recommend this school to anyone that is interested in raising kids in the big city jungle without compromising academics and wonderful person-to-person interaction.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
We are new to New York this year, but not new to classical education -- and were SO thrilled to find a classical school that was genuinely Christian in the middle of the city! My biggest concern moving here from the semi-rural West was that we would not be able to find a "real" Christian school with challenging academics and a professional, innovative, caring staff. Geneva is that and more -- our son is challenged, has grown academically and spiritually, and has just plain had fun at this wonderful school. Neither character nor acadmics are sacrificed at Geneva. Best of all, the community was so welcoming -- within days, we were "plugged in" as a family, with places to go and people to meet. Geneva and it's families are the real deal.

Nearby schools

The Geneva School of Manhattan
123 West 57th Street, New York, NY  10019
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (212) 754-9988
Last modified The Geneva School of Manhattan is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top