Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-8
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 176
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
We love the Geneva School. The community and the teachers are great. My son and daughter both attended there, but we left to go into the public school system, for financial reasons (even though it is not as expensive as some of the other private schools in NYC). My son still asks to go back to Geneva. My daughter is starting to read and she is only in Pre-K. The teachers geniunely care about the students. They have an affliated music school and my son has thrived under the instruction of his piano teacher. The combination of having a God-centric approach to teaching and the classical education is invaluable. I really like the structure (which I believe creates an environment that allows kids to flourish) and the weaving of the Gospel in every aspect of the school. The only negative is that it does not have it's own building.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
We love Geneva School! Our three children have really thrived there. They had started at Pre-K in Genenva School, but we had to moved out of NYC for a few years. But they missed Geneva School so much, we finally decided to move back to NYC. The schools that they attended outside of NYC were academically competitive, but they lack the warmth , care and character shaping aspects of Geneva School. In fact, Geneva School is superioly academically rigorous without a lot of "busy" homework. Teachers and administrators care deeply about the children, and the entire school is a close-knit community. In today's education landscape, Geneva is a real gem. It is authentic and does rigorous hardwork daily in developing children's into men an women with not just intellectual skills but more importantly Godly wisdoms that help them to navigate the complex world. We highly recommend this school!ool!


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
In the infamous New York City Kindergarten application process, we were not prepared for many positive surprises. We found one at the Geneva School of Manhattan. In all major respects, the school can be considered top tier. Many may find the initial faith statement and the requirement for active parent involvement a bit intimidating. We also had some skepticism which was quickly diffused by our extremely positive experience. Geneva takes its mission statement seriously. The emphasis on Christian values provides for a structured environment. Our two girls have thrived here. While there is a common understanding that everyone shares a similar faith, no particular denomination prevails. With the requirement for active parent participation, the school demonstrates that education is not just up to the professionals but is very much up to the parents. Excellence in education is therefore really the core strength of the school. Due to its small class sizes and caring environment, students at Geneva do extremely well. The lower tuition also helps attract a very diverse student body, important for our girls to prepare them for a global workforce.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
We have 3 children in the Geneva school. We are so happy with everything the school has to offer. This is our second year at the school and our children have grown so much in many aspects including character, Godliness, and academic excellence. It has the best of both worlds and incorporates a rigorous academic curriculum comparable to Many NYC's top private schools with the added bonus of Instilling kindness, and genuine love !

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
Both my children began at Geneva School in Preschool and are now Fourth and Seventh Grade students. In all their years at the school, they have enjoyed wonderful teachers who took a personal interest in their education. They have made great friends. Most importantly, however, is the instilling of a lifelong love of learning.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
We've re-enrolled our child yet again because we love this school so much. He is thriving in academics, is extremely kind and considerate which we lead by example at home but is also reinforced at school. So many of the children and parents are loving, kind and genuinely connected in this gem of a school. It's a Christian education where people of all levels of faith can find their place. The teachers are fantastic and the school's location is ideal - right in the middle of all that NYC has to offer!

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Geneva. We are more than blessed to have found such an amazing school. The teachers could not be any sweeter, the community interaction is stellar. In terms of academics, the kids excel here. My son reads two grades above his actual grade level. They use the Singapore math method that teaches kids a very different way of dealing with math problems. They start very early on with French and teach Latin from 5th grade on. I would highly recommend this school to anyone that is interested in raising kids in the big city jungle without compromising academics and wonderful person-to-person interaction.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
We are new to New York this year, but not new to classical education -- and were SO thrilled to find a classical school that was genuinely Christian in the middle of the city! My biggest concern moving here from the semi-rural West was that we would not be able to find a "real" Christian school with challenging academics and a professional, innovative, caring staff. Geneva is that and more -- our son is challenged, has grown academically and spiritually, and has just plain had fun at this wonderful school. Neither character nor acadmics are sacrificed at Geneva. Best of all, the community was so welcoming -- within days, we were "plugged in" as a family, with places to go and people to meet. Geneva and it's families are the real deal.


The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
This is an Amazing school! I have two children at The Geneva School of Manhattan. This school has everything that we were looking for... Competitive and Rigorous academics, daily studies of the Bible and wanted Parent involvement. So many schools do not want hand on parent involvement. This school actually thrives on parent involvement and thoughtfully uses each parents unique talents. I love being a part of my child's learning experience.

The Geneva School of Manhattan 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Geneva School is a gem in this city! We wanted a Christian school for our children, but not at the cost of academics. We have only chosen Geneva School because it balances solid Bible teaching with a rigorous Academic Curriculum, which shows in the exmissions to excellent high schools in Manhattan! The staff is excellent and highly communicative, the principal is personable and involved, and the parent body is supportive and welcoming. Also, you can't get an education for this price anywhere else in Manhattan! Apllicants should understand that this is an academically challenging, yet warm and nurturing environment. Joyful Rigor can best explain it! While our children work hard, and diligently, they are warm, funny, and happy! Physical Ed is offered more days than at most schools, They have an excellent art teacher--his work should be in The Met! Come see for yourself!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Geneva School of Manhattan
123 West 57th Street, New York, NY  10019
(212) 754-9988
Last modified The Geneva School of Manhattan is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Geneva School of Manhattan Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top