Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
399 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Child Jesus School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 23, 2015
- a community member
I was a past student I don't know how the school performs currently in the past it was not fair do to the fact that many teachers were inexperienced

Holy Child Jesus School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 23, 2015
- a community member
Students are overwhelmed with useless homework while the teachers don't teach a thing. Catholic school for many teachers is a hangout


Holy Child Jesus School 3

Posted September 16, 2014
- a community member
Nice school, but does not prepare students for high school as well as it should be. I am a former student and I attended one of the top high schools in New York state. All the best teachers (Mrs. Bonus, Mrs. Quichton, Mr. Steinmuller), are all retired. HCJ did not prepare me well. I had trouble adjusting to the work. Bullying and discrimination goes on inside the classrooms. People who are in love with the school might say otherwise, but I speak from first-hand experience. I felt I would have been happier in another school. I went to high school unprepared and with low self-esteem, but thankfully I was very happy with my high school. The school also should look into offering the Regents Exams.

Holy Child Jesus School 2

Posted June 05, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school the teachers are so mean they scream at you for no reason. For example mrs.z one of the 6th grade teacher is very bad she is very mean and gives so much homework. One time I fell off the stairs because the bag was so heavy

Holy Child Jesus School 5

Posted March 17, 2013
- a parent
My children all attended Holy Child, two are still students at the school. My three older children were extremely well-prepared for high school, and were admitted to Stuyvesant, Bronx Science, Brooklyn Tech and LaGuardia, as well as top Catholic high schools. Holy Child has really expanded their "extra" programs in the last few years, and now has an amazing art program, music program, ballroom dancing, CYO sports program (basketball, volleyball and track), computer graphics, band, choir, foreign language, after school program, tutoring, science fair and more -- it's a safe and caring environment for kids and an all around great school.


Holy Child Jesus School 3

Posted June 01, 2011
- a community member
Barely adequate in preparing students for a competitive high school, but meets expectations if your alternative is public school. There should be a greater emphasis on academics.

Holy Child Jesus School 3

Posted June 18, 2010
- a community member
Provided a basic, core education - not a lot of elective or extracurricular activities offered at the time I attended.

Holy Child Jesus School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Holy Child Jesus School provides my boys with a great education. The children of this school are very impressive, and are extremely respectful to the faculty, the parents, and most importantly, to each other. I work in NYC close to a NYC public high school. Every day I am flabbergasted at how disrespectful these high school students are at one another and the adults that pass by them. I thank my lucky stars that the students at Holy Child Jesus learn discipline and respect at home and at school. The children understand that when you treat each other with respect, you earn respect. The children at HCJ School are the future, and I am confident that all they learn from their parents, the faculty, and one another, will lead them to a successful future.


Holy Child Jesus School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
A wonderful school that instills values like hard work, honesty, and self-respect

Holy Child Jesus School 5

Posted February 12, 2007
- a student
I am a student there and I believe that it is a great school. The services aren't like a public school. The students learn a lot with a variety of subjects. It also has honor roll, Aquinas, etc. I love to be at that school. ~7th grader, Gianna

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Child Jesus School
111-02 86th Avenue, New York, NY  11418
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (718) 849-3988
Last modified Holy Child Jesus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top