Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a student
Lower lab is so warm and fun--and the best school for me! I've had so much fun time there and I'm really glad I came.

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted November 12, 2014
- a community member
I was a Lower Lab Kid over 20 years ago (EEK!) and have just completed my MBA. I credit the Lower Lab School with all of my life's success and am thrilled to see it has remained one of the city's top elementary schools. The psychotically involved PTA and quirkiness of teachers made the whole school feel like a family. I remember it being such a special, nurturing, challenging environment when I was there and I'm not sure how much has changed since my Spanish and Science teachers only recently retired!


Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
As parents of both public school and private school kids we are very pleased with PS 77. Class size is large and not for everyone if your child needs a more intimate environment. Parents realize that in a perfect world all other neighboring public schools should be on par with the program at PS 77 and that they are fortunate to get this education. New Principal is hands-on, dynamic and very approachable. Quite a positive way to start the new school year. We love that there are 2 classes per grade so all the kids get to know one another during their Lower School experience. Good idea to supplement physical education and the arts if you have the time, but this is true of all NYC public schools.

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
If you can get in--great. Responsive principal, wonderful GC, kids who practically teach themselves, tough curriculum. They even manage to integrate the high-performing kids w IEPs and the program seems to work well. Only caveat is the parents who take the whole G & T label a bit too seriously. Where are all these "geniuses" now? Also, the teachers can be spotty, but it hardly matters with this demographic.

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter's in the middle of second grade, and I can say that so far, our experience at Lab has been outstanding. Dedicated teachers, hands-on prinicpal (who's a bit stiff, but effective enough), active and involved families, PTA that raises enough money to have aides in each classroom (which is a big deal, honestly, and really helps). The curriculum is accelerated and engaging, but (at least so far) homework is not a big deal or overwhelming. The school's attentive to emotional needs, and has a strong peer mediation program that reinforces this. Overall, no reservations about recommending Lab to prospective parents.


Ps 77 Lower Lab School 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Undoubtedly this is a great school and the principal is quite good as well--especially compared to those of the other neighborhood schools. The teachers all seem fine as well. One negative to me is the parent body--there is major attitude here and everyone thinks his/her child is a genius. They may test well and get accepted here, but the middle school placement is nothing special. These parents also have a really negative touch-me-not attitude toward the kids in the special ed program, some of whom are really bright but have dyslexia or suffer from OT issues. They are treated by soem as lepers. Wake up, this is NYC people--and almost everyone has an IEP or "issues"!

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of a child currently enrolled at Lower lab I have been very pleased with the program so far and I know that it's the right school for my child. The program and teachers have exceeded my expectations and hopes. The school is nurturing while also challenging. The children are taught social responsibility and awareness. They have been exposed to so many cultural activities around the city. I can't help but feel that we are getting a unique and special experience overall as a family, and I know my child is getting a top-notch education. The principal and assistant principal are undoubtedly leading this school in a great direction.

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a community member
lab is a very social and close school with great acedemics and amazing teachers. with only two classes per grade you really get to know everyone and there is a very close community.


Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
The Lab is an exceptional school with lots of activities for the kids. With only 2 classes per grade the students really get to know each other and although it is among the best scoring schools in all of NYS, the environment is very warm and friendly. We couldn't be happier at this school.

Ps 77 Lower Lab School 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
P.S 77 is a warm, nurturing, academically strong school for your child.The teachers and the parents are the heart of the school. Together with the students it is a fabulous learning community. The students continue to score amongst the highest in the state.

Nearby schools

Ps 77 Lower Lab School
1700 3rd Avenue, New York, NY  10128
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (212) 427-2798
Last modified Ps 77 Lower Lab School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top