Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
are there bullies in this school? I'm trying to get into this school because i was having bully problems in my current school. So... are there populars, divas, or anyone of that sort?

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 1

Posted June 12, 2013
- a community member
This school is wack. people always fighting and that make ghe environmnet unsafe. teachers are jerks.


Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 4

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
The school made an incredible improvement. The new principal is really working hard to make sure students are on top of their game. some of the best teachers my daughter had are from this school. the only problem is to get more parents involved in the activities and meetings, but we (parents) are working on that issue. my daughter is a senior now and we will really miss the personal attention and the great teachers she had.

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 4

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
My son feels very comfortable with his teachers and is always looking forward to new educational activities. The teachers are great and are always willing to work with both the parent and the student.

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a community member
The school is really turning the corner. They have a new principal and assistant principal who are raising expectations and focusing on high school preparation. I think the best is yet to come for this school!


Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a student
i go there now and it is an excelent school

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
I think that MS 256 is a great school that shows our kids knowledge and great discipline.

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence 5

Posted May 18, 2006
- a parent
Overall I would say MS 256 is a very good school.My son receives alot of personal attention.The teachers stay in close contact with the parents,so we know whats going on with our children. I feel my son is safe at ms 256.The teachers and principal are very involved with the students.I have visited the school several times and found it to be very well run.Smart pleasent teachers,friendly students and a safe atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence
154 West 93rd Street, New York, NY  10025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (212) 222-2857
Last modified Ms 256 Academic And Athletic Excellence is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top