Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children 1

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
My son has been in this school since Kindergarten. First they were claiming he had speech problems (mind you he is the youngest of his class and will always be the last to turn the overall class age). He speaks clearly actually better than some of his classmates. This school has some wonderful faculty but than you have others members who aren't so pleasant. This school is not such a great structured environment. They don't dedicate the time that is needed to better your child's education. Children are expected to pretty much fend for themselves and be able to learn and grasps things on their own. They don't have such a great focus for children to read independently. They are too lay back and their curriculum sucks. With the two years of experience I have had in this school I have to say it has been not only horrible but also disappointing. With all these great reviews and such great involvement from the principal and staff members I feel that my child shouldn't have had all the problems that sprung upon the school year. They should also consider giving workshops were children are taught not to be bullies and should all sign certifications that they won't bully anyone and if they see any bullying going on they will report it and try to intervene. This school is not the best and very disappointing in more than one way.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
To all the teachers and faculty that took their time with my son and who dedicated themselves to him. thank you for giving him the chance others were doubtful could even happen. I am forever grateful for you guys. Thank you.


Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
THEY GIVE NO HOMEWORK. And if it is given it's rare and scarce. They need more educational involvement to prepare these children the right way.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Children must learn to respect themselves before they respect others. Parents are also to teach their children this at home so it makes it easier for the school to continue implementing the same morale.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Children see others get hurt and don't say anything or even try to help another out. Children in this school have ganged up on my child and not only hit him but be extra mean and crude to him.


Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Children in this school are barely taught anything. It is very disappointing because there are faculty members there who try above and beyond to teach and prepare these children.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in 5th grade. My wife went to UC Berkeley and I went to Harvard and a NYC private school. We are tremendously impressed with MSC. The teachers are extremely talented and fully engage the children in learning. Our child was inspired to become quite the reader. He has done very well on standardized tests. I was informed by a New York Times education columnist that the program is the same as that at "gifted and talented" schools. The school fosters a caring and inclusive environment. Each year one of the three classes is a mix of typical children and children with non-cognitive special needs. Recent changes include a terrific new principal. Most students are staying on through 8th grade. Many parents donate to supplement the school budget.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I am a new parent in the school in second grade after leaving private school. So far we are thrilled! The school has been warm and welcoming, the other familes are incredibly engaged and interesting. So far the academic component has been on par with our private school experience but culturally the diversity in terms of race, class and differing physical abilities has already been a huge benefit for my son's learning experience.


Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Having just received the results of the state wide tests for 2013 that were the most rigorous tests to date, we were elated that our two children who have been at MSC for 5 years got very high marks. We attribute this to the excellent instruction which prepared them for the new "common core" standards. As a parent I have to say that I really appreciate the parent community which is full of worldly, creative, motivated and well rounded individuals. We feel especially fortunate to have such a nurturing and challenging environment for our children.

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children 5

Posted March 24, 2012
- a parent
i have a first grader and 3rd grader at MSC and its really a great school. i have looked at a few of the negative reviews and I find them puzzling given that I have never encountered a parent that seemed anything other than thrilled with the school. Maybe they are in upper grades or just got very unlucky with a teacher. We are very discerning parents in terms of academic rigor and I would comment that its a tad lax on that front, but its nothing that you cannot make up for easily at home. Bottom line, its a happy, well-run school with great teachers. In K through 4th grade, that is really what you want, and the fact that you drop off and pick up from the classroom is so massive since the teachers interact with parents and caregivers constantly, and its easy to foster good relationships.

Nearby schools

Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children
154 West 93rd Street, New York, NY  10025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (212) 222-1450
Last modified Ps 333 Manhattan School For Children is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top